We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum is a historic site located within Delaware Seashore State Park. Self-guided tours of the museum are offered year round and provide visitors with the opportunity to learn about the history of the United States Life-Saving Service, precursor to the current day U.S. Coast Guard.Not only is the Indian River Life-Saving Station open for tours, it also acts as the "hub" for all educational and recreational programs held within Delaware Seashore State Park. Programs cover a wide range of topics and activities from local maritime history to guided kayak tours.
Ocean View, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Museum tells a tale. We had visit during a demo, which was very interesting. There is a lot of things to explore, check out the activities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teigh9060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What to do on a rainy day?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This little museum was a lot of fun for our two boys. There's an informational video and small museum showing how the brave lifeguards lived at the turn of the century . They were fascinated by the tools, especially the small canons. The audio tour available on your phone is really helpful, especially with impatient boys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a nice little stop. The history of this station is fascinating and the stories of the people who worked here for all those years saving people from the ocean are amazing. We did the phone-in self guided tour. The information was quite useful and certainly added to the experience. I highly recommend at least doing the phone-in - without that the experience would have been a bit flat. We were not able to do any of the special activities they have as there were none happening at the time we visited - but I think those would have added a lot to the experience. I found the 6 minute intro film a bit dull - there was some good info there but I think they could have done a lot more with that. [Quick suggestions: add more narration, consider some live action reenactments mixed in with the historical stills.] Overall, this is quite an interesting place and worth the stop. The admission price is quite reasonable. It also has a nice gift shop with some unusual objects. I'm glad we visited.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice daytime and nighttime activities for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

this museum has a night time program where it traces the path of the guards watching for ships passing by as they did a century ago. the use of lanterns enhances the experience and tales of the sea mariners. wonderful for all ages.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pronurse302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Incredible history at the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

So very glad my husband and I decided to stop at the IRLSS! The quality of the restoration, the displays, and the information presented was top-notch! We had the good fortune of a guided tour by a retired Navy/Coast Guard officer the morning we were there. The life-saving work done a hundred years ago by these men is well worth sharing. Thank-you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CKHteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing