We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum is a historic site located within Delaware Seashore State Park. Self-guided tours of the museum are offered year round and provide visitors with the opportunity to learn about the history of the United States Life-Saving Service, precursor to the current day U.S. Coast Guard.Not only is the Indian River Life-Saving Station open for tours, it also acts as the "hub" for all educational and recreational programs held within Delaware Seashore State Park. Programs cover a wide range of topics and activities from local maritime history to guided kayak tours.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great time doing a tour of the station in mid-March. Laura was my guide and she was fabulous; upbeat and very knowledgeable! I love how they have incorporated not only artifacts that show more about how amazing, life-saving work was done, but also ones that give you a glimpse into how those who served might have experienced day to day life at the station. I hope to return and take part in other programs that are offered! Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoleyoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hill, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coin Beach Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We met at the parking lot at the Indian River Inlet right next to the new bridge. Our guide was Alex, who was phenomenal. He was friendly, pleasant and knowledgeable. We had a great hike from the parking lot along the beach, almost to the Indian River Life Saving station. We were with another couple and their teenage son.

It was great! We had a good breeze blowing and the sun came out a little later. There were loads of sea shells and we practically had the beach to ourselves.

We paid $4 per person and it was money well spent. We were not allowed to give a tip to our guide, which I would have liked to do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting History Facts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The Indian River Life-Saving Station offers many interesting facts about men who used to risk their lives to save so many others'. Before going the museum, you watch a 3-minute long video about the history of the Life-Saving station, so you get situated; the video is not boring at all and has the right amount of information. When buying the tickets, you receive the information to set a museum guide on your cell phone; it's really useful, you can do it at your own pace and is has interesting information. I went there on a cold Saturday morning in March and still had a good time. I highly recommend it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Look into history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very well placed structure in the middle of the state park. Good example and like hands on experience of how our U.S. Coast Guard was originated.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for a while.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stopped here on our way down the shoreline. Had a great time and learned a lot. The station house is just like they walked away in the middle of the day. Lots of period items with explanations. They also have an audio tour for people with unlimited minutes on their phone. There is a museum store with a video to watch. Outside they have picnic areas, both covered and open. Also a short 10 yard walk to the beach through the dunes out the southwest corner of the yard.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ffgrizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum at Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing