We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delaware Seashore State Park

Delaware Seashore State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From fishing and boating to surfing and sail boarding, this six-mile stretch of coastline boasts a wide variety of outdoor recreation for people of all ages.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in mid June. It was a very good experience. The only problem was that it rained hard for a part of each day. The campsites did not drain very well and much of the campground became a lake. Within 10-15 minutes of the rain stopping the place would be virtually dry again. the site we were on did not flood but many of them around us did. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities restrooms, showers, etc were clean and well maintained. I know that the park is closed until next season when they will be opening a completely renovated park across the highway. We can't wait to try out the new facilities.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don50alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    99
    23
    16
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I Love the Delaware Seashore !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I spent my whole childhood going to the Jersey Shore and not until adulthood did I discover what a wonderful legacy the people of Delaware have preserved at each of their Seashore Parks !
NO BEACH TAGS necessary at these pristine beaches.... in this economy the DE beaches are an incredible bargain as you pay by the CAR LOAD !
The beaches are all well maintained, guarded in season by great staff and wonderful to roam once the tourists have left. I have spent a sunny January day sitting on the beach watching waves, gulls and ships...these beaches are a well kept secret. The beaches are just one of the many reasons so many of us have retired to Delaware !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogogram63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Cool place on a cold rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Torrential rains, heavy winds do not make a beach day for many, but if you like lonely stetches, try this park out on a non sunny day. Wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, DE
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you simply like the beach--this is better than nearby towns!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

DE Seashore State Park has a limit on parking, and therefore a limit on the number of people who can access the beach. Once the parking lot is full, you need to wait in your car until another vehicle leaves. As a result it's not nearly as crowded as Rehoboth or Dewey beaches. On the other hand, it's a state park without amusement rides, business district, or otherwise. There is however a large bath house with showers, bathrooms, and a quick-serve food stop. It also provides a central boardwalk to cross the dunes if needed. A short distance further south vehicles with beach fishing permits can cross the dunes directly. If you're a frequent visitor to the park opt for the season pass. It will be much less expensive than permit or metered parking in Rehoboth or Dewey. Out of state vehicles pay a larger fee than instate vehicles. Overall the beach is fairly deep and clean. Sand is softer and not as course as some surrounding beaches. The use of boogie boards, skim boards, rafts, etc. are permitted. There are no trash bins as it's a 'carry in carry out' park but you can get a plastic bag from the entrance attendant or near the bath house. When we want to go to the beach this is where we go. Lifeguards are pretty friendly and knowledgeable. No alcohol permitted if that's your thing. It's less than a mile walk along the beach to Dewey and another mile to Rehoboth. The only drawback I find to the park is smoking is still permitted on the beach. Although the beach is kept clean overall, you may find a cigarette butt here or there and a whiff of smoke if someone nearby is smoking and the wind is blowing your way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Relaxing. Not as crowded as the beach adjacent to the boardwalk. In a great location - not far from downtown. Family friendly. Access to umbrellas and chairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

 

Been to Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing