We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach...”

Delaware Seashore State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From fishing and boating to surfing and sail boarding, this six-mile stretch of coastline boasts a wide variety of outdoor recreation for people of all ages.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Relaxing. Not as crowded as the beach adjacent to the boardwalk. In a great location - not far from downtown. Family friendly. Access to umbrellas and chairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    115
    24
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice beach area.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good beach area for families and couples. Food available on site and washrooms. Beach is clean and lifeguards are diligent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches in Delaware”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Delaware Seashore State Park is spectacular. A great way to spend the day with family or a nice place to share with folks who may be visiting you or the state. The waves are a bit rough but the sand is lovely and the beach never seems to be very crowded. I'm not crazy that folks can actually drive their vehicles on the beach and take their dogs but I have never been bothered by either.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CapitalTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Basic Beach Campground-Good Value!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The campground at the Indian River Inlet is part of the Delaware Seashore State Park. All of the RV spaces are pull-throughs but rather tight for anything over 42 feet. Our coach touched the roadway both front and behind. Since most of the campers on the week before Labor Day 2013 were large trailers or 5th wheels, all owners were aware of the tight space and there was no yelling as vehicles came and went.
The water pressure is a little on the low side when everyone is showering morning and after returning from the beach. Taste is good.
Electrical service at our site was fairly close to an actual 50amp 240 service. Only when everyone was cooking did voltage drop a bit although our circuit breaker got a little hot.
Restrooms inspected on a busy Saturday morning were clean although you'll never get all the sand out of indoor facilities. Basically, this facility is built on a sandbar; you can walk from ocean to bay in about 15 minutes.
The ocean is about 500 yards from the campground and the beach boasts a new dressing room, restroom and snack bar. Life guards keep swimmers under watch. The surf is better here than up the road at Rehoboth Beach and fishing appears good along the inlet channel.
The campground has spaces for tents with electric and water and there is a huge playground for the kiddies.
Trash is picked up often and the dumpsters were never full.
As the campground appears for be only a foot or so above high tide, rains can make some RV locations very wet with slow drainage.
Other than the playground, there are no amenities such as cable or WiFi. You are there for the ocean and/or fishing. Headboats for ocean fishing can be found on the north side of the inlet along with a new dockside restaurant.
The second best thing about the campground is the price: about half what is charged seven miles north in Rehoboth Beach or a few miles south at Fenwick Island. Because of that reservations waaay in advance are mandatory during the summer season.
The main attraction here is the brand new spectacular suspension bridge over the inlet. It attracts photographers by the score and the nighttime appearance is nothing less than dazzling with deep blue lighting of the cables and towers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delaware Seashore State Park Campground Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First and foremost this is a review of the Campground and Beach. I've seen many negative reviews on this and other sites and they are misleading. You must remember you are camping on the beach essentially. No there are no trees and very little if any shade. Know that going in. The facilities were very nice, clean and operational. You have to push a button to turn the shower on and it only stays on so long but I would rather this than pay showers. Were some campers inconsiderate? Yes of course, you will get that anywhere but on the whole there were few problems. The highway and bridge close by was not a problem. In fact there was an accident the first night of our visit on the bridge and I didn’t know about it till I woke up on my own and saw flashing lights. The Bridge is quite stunning at night with the lights on and a very unique backdrop! The Staff was very friendly and the gentleman working the camp store was a hoot! The tent sites were close together so I recommend you get a site on the main road like we did and you have plenty of room. An unfortunate storm damaged our tent to the point we could not sleep in it on our second day (what would have been our third night). Other campers were affected by the intense storm and we all just laughed and sorted the broken from the good packed up and headed out. I would recommend this campground and would go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaware Seashore State Park also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Delaware Seashore State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing