We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood”

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a fantastic restaurant! There was about a 45 min to an hour wait but it was well worth it. You give the hostess your cell number and they text you when your table is ready. My husband and I were dining with our 2 and 5 year olds so the wait was a little tough on them. During the wait a waitress saw that our children were getting a little antsy so she brought over crayons and paper for them to color on. The kids food came right out and unfortunately the wait for our entrees took quite a long time. We had to ask the waitress if she could check on the status but then the food came right out and she was very apologetic. ( this is the only reason I gave a 4 out of 5 rating) my husband started with an oyster sampler and then had the scallops as his entree. I had the fish special which they could prepare any way you liked. I chose the Harissa preparation and it did not disappoint. If I'm ever in Rehoboth again I will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfox1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    218
    63
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Low key happy hour oyster specials”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect place to grab a drink and a dozen oysters after a day at the beach. Happy hour specials begin at 3:00 and the place is packed. Great steamed shrimp and clams too. Vast array of beer choices and top notch drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great food, large servings”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

So I read the TA reviews and had to try the lobster mac and cheese - pasta shells, gouda, cheddar, cognac, lobster and a brown butter breading. I was concerned it would be too much but this restaurant aims to please. They offer half servings of this (and I suspect other dishes as well!). I was going to order sangria and the waitress offered suggestions of how to modify the drink since I didn't want their standard, which had liqueur and soda. The salads were large, tasty and interesting. The mac and cheese was great. The food being served at nearby tables looked wonderful. Service was terrific. Probably should have tried their version of sangria. I wish I had a few more days here so I could enjoy this restaurant a few more times!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner at the Beach!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

A friend recommended this restaurant & we decided to try it with our two daughters, ages 15 & 21. We went on a Friday night and only waited about a half hour-well worth the wait!! We got a great table with a fantastic server. She was friendly & attentive. The restaurant is small, but has a cool vibe. Everyone had a different main dish & all argued that theirs was the best. Must try the halibut; absolutely delicious!! Portions are very generous. We will definitely come to this restaurant again next year!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellovers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very good service...”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner there recently and the food was excellent. We had the Oysters Rockefeller appetizer, which was very tasty and a nice start. For our entrees my wife had the New England Lobster Roll and I had the Bouillabaisse...we sampled each other's dish. It is safe to say that we loved each dish, but I thought the bouillabaisse was the best I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing