We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, great seafood specials” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
236 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great seafood specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first visit here and we really enjoyed it. The fried oyster dinners were delicious. The oysters were plump and sweet. The white cheddar mac and cheese was really good as well. The red drum fish special was mild and delicious. It was prepared with a subtle cream sauce. I enjoyed the service and the atmosphere though the table where they seated us was a little cramped for five. Thank goodness we really like each other. I hope this will not be our last visit here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    212
    57
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This restaurant doesn't need another great review but they deserve it anyway. Fantastic happy hour that begins at 3:00PM on weekdays. Best ice cold, clean oysters in town. Good food and drink specials with competent, friendly bartenders. Place is always crowded but everyone is friendly and in good spirits. Dinners are also top of the line with a professional wait staff - menu is varied and may be viewed on-line. Reservations are highly suggested.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank infrequentcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

By far the best seafood restaurant in the area. Very friendly staff. Lots of craft beers to pick from. The dinner menu changes daily. Their steamed shrimp and steamed clams are cooked a little different than most restaurants but that is what makes it so good. The oysters are delicious. This is a must for anyone visiting the area. Fortunately I live in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fyed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
272 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“There's a lot of pressure being the #2 restaurant in a town. They live up.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

It started really well, with an extensive beer menu, great waitress (Maizie) and awesome bread. The food was extremely good, and I would be nitpicking if I said anything bad. The scallops were awesome, the shrimp excellent, and the salad was amazing. They can hold their heads high as a go-to restaurant in Rehobeth Beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank BumblechickFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Laidback, Great Happy Hour but can be very busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The oysters just fantastic good variety very fresh classically presented was there with a group of 4 friends we opted to order several appetizers to accompany our large sampler of oysters. Calamari excellent! Peel and eat shrimp also excellent the fish tartar was out of this world fresh fish, salmon roe and a quail egg on top served with fried wontons (I used my fork couldn't get enough on the wonton). Service was quick friendly just down right welcoming, there was an 1.5 hour wait already at 5:30 but they take your cell number and text when your table is ready just don't wander to far you only have 5 minutes to get back and claim the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing