We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky Seafood consumers”

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picky Seafood consumers”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

ANY time I go back to Rehoboth Beach, I will most definitely be there-- every day. I took my wife for her birthday dinner and had a great experience. To preface, though we live in PA, we have lived along the shore and had the freshest of seafood many, many times; including the fifteen years we lived in Key West, and travels to Acapulco, Trinidad and elsewhere . We started with some of the freshest oysters we ever tasted and befriended the great shuckers who were not only friendly but very knowledgeable of the oyster, not just doing a job. For dinner, I tried the sea scallops which were great and my wife had fish-- a Hawaiian type but the name evades me right now. She eats fish out often and when she said it was the "best" she had ever eaten, I was astounded. Knowing it was my wife's birthday, the gentleman who was the shucker, brought her a small slice of their dynamite cake with a candle; priceless gesture.The hostess and our waitress recognized us when we returned the following night and spoke... nice touch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    218
    63
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Henlopen City Heaven”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I make sure to visit Henlopen City every time we come to the beach. Raw oysters are fresh and delicious; oyster stew is phenomenal (I want the recipe!); happy hour prices are awesome; steamed shrimp=wow; steamed clams=oh yes; great craft beer selection...I've never seen a happy hour that wasn't packed with people. Industrial-type ceiling with tons of light coming in from the walls of windows-the vibe is casual and the food is awesome!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Vanillathunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular Seafood and Desserts”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food was truly spectacular. Not the usual fare either. I had the panko encrusted dayboat scallops with a bacon caramel sauce and bourbon mashed sweet potatoes. The combination of flavors and delicate cook on the scallops were perfect. The peanut butter pie is not to be missed. Service was prompt, polite, and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank msp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I ate here for lunch 3 days in a row - the total time I was in Rehoboth. I had a dzoen oysters each time. Really great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Alwyas E X C E L L E N T Seafood fare.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We always stop into the Henlopen City Oyster House when we visit Rehoboth Beach and as always we were not disappointed. We arrived for a very late dinner (9:45 pm) and the chef and kitchen was gracious enough to cook two more dinners for us. I ordered the stuffed Sea Bream with olives on a bed of ink spaghetti noodles and it was delicious. My wife order the Red Snapper which was delicious. We enjoyed a nice dinner with friends at the bar because we arrived after 9:30 pm their last seating. Henlopen City Oyster House is a no brainer for a well prepared seafood dinner. Bon Appetite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DfHRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing