We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a reason it is Number 1”

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“There is a reason it is Number 1”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is hands down the best restaurant in Rehoboth. My family and I have been coming to Henlopen City Oyster House for years and it always consistently excellent food.

My hands down favorite dish is the Fried Scallops with bacon caramel sauce. I never thought that caramel and scallops would be this good. But I have ordered it the last 5 times I have been there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    212
    57
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snow Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes I even tried raw oysters!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a fantastic place to eat! The seafood is outstanding. Steamed clams to die for. The oysters were hand selected by our server as this was my first time eating them raw and she assured us this was the place to do that!! Service excellent. Beer perfect. Food outstanding

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love lunch here”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have only eaten lunch here but I look forward to going back. The Po boy was great with fried oysters and fried shrimp. My mouth waters just thinking about it. Large selection of beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food Vibrant Atomosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Interesting menu and the preparation to back it up, fun atmosphere (even on a dreary January night), friendly service

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Locals love it”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is not a upscale restaurant. However, the food is excellent. Locals go to the Oyster House as it is a friendly restaurant. The staff is great. If you sit at the bar you will have two excellent bartenders in Amy and Jamie. If I don't go every weekend there has to be a good reason. This restaurant is becoming one of the most popular restaurant/bar in Rehoboth Beach, a must if you are visiting the beach.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbums1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing