We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Please read my other reviews. I don't give 5 stars lightly, unlike many reviewers. This was my second visit here. When I walked in, the owner welcomed me back, having recognized me from a year ago! It's always busy here and there is a wait, but they warn you the wait is longer than it really is, which is a plus in my book. I am an oyster nut. My oysters were superb, and the presentation was simple and ideal. The lobster roll would embarrass most Massachusetts locations The lamb shank, one of several non-seafood items, was bliss. The wait staff is well-trained, a rarity these days. Our waitress could describe every beer to perfection. Who else can say this? The beer selection is remarkable for this small location. Ask for the "special beer list" if you're willing to spend a little more. You won't be disappointed. I will be back here every year. I come to Delaware for the annual Punkin Chunkin World Championship. They know me as "Sir John."

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Legneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    209
    55
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Serendipity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were on an all-expenses-paid trip, but we wanted to sneak away for dinner on our own and by sheer luck, this place was on the same street as our hotel. Sleek and modern look and casual ambiance, but with cloth napkins. Oyster season suggested our meal. My companion had an assortment of raw oysters, the provenance of each explained by the server. I had the fried oyster po' boy and fries. Extensive beer and wine choices. This was a delightful meal, served very well, in a terrific atmosphere. What more could you want?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler2703D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Modern Decor, Traditional Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fresh, fresh, fresh! That's the line on the half-shell oysters at this popular Rehoboth Beach place. We had an excellent, relaxed lunch in an airy, modern space with friendly wait staff and well-timed service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

As a local the only problem is the line. Great people fantastic happy hour. Great beer. Oysters couldnt be any fresher. Joe and chris the owners are great guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We often go to Henlopen City Oyster House for happy hour, and have eaten full meals in the bar on many occasions. The bar staff at this restaurant are among the finest I've ever had the pleasure of being served by, and the food served is always top-notch. A variety of fresh oysters are always available; during the season, soft-shell crabs. The other items on the menu including lobster mac & cheese, seafood dishes, salads, and sides have always been terrific. The menu has a range of selections that should satisfy nearly everyone. The one drawback to the place is that it does not accept reservations, so be preapread to wait for a table or even space in the bar -- this restaurant is that popular. It's a high class place that isn't too very expensive; it has energy in the bar area and quiet seating at the tables. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BCHalleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing