We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We often go to Henlopen City Oyster House for happy hour, and have eaten full meals in the bar on many occasions. The bar staff at this restaurant are among the finest I've ever had the pleasure of being served by, and the food served is always top-notch. A variety of fresh oysters are always available; during the season, soft-shell crabs. The other items on the menu including lobster mac & cheese, seafood dishes, salads, and sides have always been terrific. The menu has a range of selections that should satisfy nearly everyone. The one drawback to the place is that it does not accept reservations, so be preapread to wait for a table or even space in the bar -- this restaurant is that popular. It's a high class place that isn't too very expensive; it has energy in the bar area and quiet seating at the tables. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BCHalleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    189
    49
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was very close to The Bellmoor where we stayed. My friend and I enjoyed this restaurant very much. The food was good and prepared beautifully.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebecca n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Maybe our mistake in not ordering the oysters...but was underwhelmed by the food. The presentation was just OK. Vegetable side was overcooked cauliflower and broccoli. The white fish was bland. More of what you would expect from a home cooked meal rather than restaurant quality entrees priced in the $25 range. The service was excellent, I'm just not sure the A-team was in the kitchen that night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cf131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This local has a popular happy hour with some great deals and absolutely fresh, delicious oysters. Get there by 4 for happy hour, it fills up fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgaltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Fresh Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every summer we spend at least a week at Rehoboth Beach and the Henlopen City Oyster House is our top dining spot out. Relaxed and welcoming, we even bring the kids. Great service and really fresh seafood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BackpackingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing