We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always consistent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been going to the Oyster House since they opened. The quality of the food, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is stellar!
I always recommend this as a must do to visitors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjclink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    189
    49
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The crab cakes are some of the best around. They have no "filling," so it's just bread crumbs and egg to make them stick together. They also have specialty beers on tap, so it's a winner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spontini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“October Oyster Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice selection of fresh oysters and fine beers on tap. IPA is nice and crisp and a good pair with the oysters. Not crowded at all in the afternoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetMP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great specials from 3-5pm at the bar-area-only happy hour. Terrific prices on drinks and food (definitely get the steamed shrimp, steamed oysters and clams, and buffalo shrimp!) Plus, the staff is super friendly. However, during the summer months, you'll need to get there before 3pm, as a line forms.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rg1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A return visit doesn't disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Back again, to a restaurant that I don't like to miss on my annual pilgrimage to RB. I'd have come here with family last week, but with five people, one of them with mobility issues, a popular restaurant that doesn't take reservations is just not on the list, I'm afraid, no matter how good the food is. But mid-week in mid-October, as a solo diner, I had no problem getting a table.

I'd forgotten about the calamari. Yes, it's wonderful. But I've been to places in the world where this much food would sustain a family of four for about two days. This is not an appetizer for one person. It's something to be shared with others. Several others.

The rockfish was done to perfection - served piping hot, perfectly cooked, gently seasoned. The veggies, broccoli and cauliflower, were likewise spot-on. Good shoestring fries, especially with some malt vinegar, something that's not on offer in most places.

A good selection of wines and craft beers, and excellent service, right down to my waiter asking if he should put in my entree order, or if I wanted a bit more time to linger over the calamari. A refreshing change from the "hurry up and finish your appetizer, we need the table" routine you get in a lot of restaurants.

The listing above puts the meal price at $20-$30. In your dreams. Appetizer, entree, two glasses of wine, $55 before tip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jGromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing