We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent American seafood!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent American seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Good oyster selection, excellent crab cakes and a must have steamer pot luck. We visited this place twice during our stay and both times had to sit at the bar due to very long wait times for a table. We had not issue with that and Jamie the bartender took care of us - great service! We also had a grilled rockfish and a bouillabaisse, both were amazing! The restaurant a nice beer and wine selections...Fun atmosphere and terrific food, we see why people wait so long to eat there!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJToti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    208
    55
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We’ve been wanting to try Henlopen City Oyster House for years, but have always been put off by the long lines, since they don’t take reservations. This time we tried to go early on a week night to see what all the fuss is about, and frankly, it left me scratching my head. Even on a Thursday evening after Labor Day, we had to wait about 45 minutes for a table. When we got to the table, there was a powerful air-conditioner blowing cold air on us non-stop – even though it was already cool enough outside that A/C was hardly needed at all. The din and commotion was so loud from their hyperactive bar that my husband and I – sitting right next to each other, on the corners of a small table in a little alcove, couldn’t hear a word of each other’s conversation and had to repeat everything. Frankly, that ruined just about everything that was to come. The service was excellent. My pomfret (fish) was slightly overcooked and on the dry side, with a peanut curry sauce that was delicious but honestly tasted just like the one you can get from a jar. My husband, who was not in the mood for fish, said his pulled pork barbeque was mediocre. We were too cold and hoarse to stay for dessert. So unless you’re coming for the raw bar, which I only hope is what people line up for, save your money and go to Back Porch Café or Blue Moon instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCDolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great oysters and food! We had a long wait about 1 hour, but the food was good and came out hot. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 759jeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We first visited when they opened about 3 years ago. We always go back whenever we are in the area. Had the oyster Rockefeller, steamed shrimp for starters, then moved onto the crab cakes. Also need to mentioned that the cocktails here are as good as the food. The only down side is the wait. We arrived about 630 on a Wednesday eve. Was told the wait would be hour, 15. So, we decided to have a few drinks & th e decided to just eat @ the bar. We really like this place & the crab cakes are out of this world! The service & staff are top notch! Look forward to when we can get back to town again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOUD Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Enjoyed very good oysters and clams casino here on a Saturday evening, but the noise in the place was ridiculous. My partner and I could barely hear one another or the wait staff. We also tried the frog legs salad and sugar toads. The frog legs were too gritty with corn meal coating, but the sugar toads (puffer fish) flesh was good (could have done without the fried batter coating). We had to wait over an hour to be seated (we walked down to the beach, and the hostess texted us when our table was ready), and then we had to wait about 10 minutes after being seated for someone to greet us and take our drink order. Would probably only return during off hours to have more excellent oysters on the half shell.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing