We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Go here for seafood but skip the steak & duck.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
50 Wilmington Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-260-9193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Go here for seafood but skip the steak & duck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The place is small and very busy. Most people were enjoying the oysters and happy hour. The caesar salad was very good with just the right amount of dressing. They did not have crab cakes, so I ordered steak. It was overdone, but they did immediately replace it. Not a great cut of beef, but OK. The duck was tasty, but did not have the usual duck flavor that we enjoy. Staff was courteous & friendly. We live in the New York City area with great restaurants, so we may be a little too criticall about the food. We just expected better quality from the number 1 rated restaurant in Rehobeth. Should have ordered the seafood!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    189
    49
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iselin, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great happy hour on saturday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just came back yesterday from rehoboth. My husband and I love oysters and seafood so we always go for happy hour oysters because they are 1/2 price and we just can't eat a dozen. We arrived at 2 :50 because the happy hour starts at 3:00 and the restaurant is ALWAYS packed...but the problem is the restaurant opens at 12 so the bar was already packed and we just happened to get lucky and a couple was leaving and they gave up their seats. Soooo,we had a couple dozens of oysters which were very good,they were very nice and cold also.I hate when oysters r not on a Lot of ice and not freezing cold. I had the house Chardonnay which I usually would never order but I figured I would try it for $3 a glass...it was very good so I had another. My husband likes beer and they have a large blackboard with unusual selections,so he tried 3 different kind. Then we had to have the lobster rol that is so delicious I have to get it at every visit,it is full of lobster,we even split it because we get too full and then we can't have dinner ( which we couldn't anyway) . Even their fries r delicious. Don't miss this place ,it is excellent. I've never been here in the summer but I can't even imagine how crazy it would be. Our hotel was right down the street ( the avenue inn ) and every time we passed by on Saturday night it was so crowded and standing room only at the bar,maybe it would be a good idea to try it out for a lunch or early dinner because it wasn't as crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keljespat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely the friendliest restaurant in Rehoboth....Great oyster bar ! Great food! Whether happy hour or dinner it's always a treat.Can't miss menu, do yourself a favor give it a shot . We have followed the owners for years , dynamite wait staff. Oh did I say we love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flick115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great selection of seafood. There were at least 4 selections that I would have liked to try because they sounded so delicious and unique. I decided on a Hawaiian fish and my wfe ordered scallops. They were both great. We also had oysters. The beer selection was terrific. The waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable.

I was a little hesitant to take our 3 and 5 year old chldren here, but the staff made them feel very welcome.

My new favorite restaurant in Rehoboth!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank the_walrus_from_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Oysters and Pot Luck steamers...yum! We have never had a big meal here. It does get crowded so plan to wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7504girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing