We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we dined at this restaurant. It never disappoint us! This time they had rabbit 4 way that they did not have last time, it was just perfect! My wife ordered the halibut and it was delicious. As appetizer the New England clam chowder is creamy, I could eat a whole bucket.
Service is attentive and the place is cute inside

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claudio050881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    189
    49
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lupe was celebrating her 49th Birtday this month (and please do sat say "Again?!!").
So Lupe and the General decided to do a layover in Rehoboth Beach last weekend. (Lupe loves layovers). Stopped at a cute little bar Called the Blue Moon. The General likes to have one or three Manhattans before dinner (truth be told, so does Lupe). Well it is a tres amusing place with some hefty boys wearing makeup and ladies garments, and we got chatting with a cute atheletic boy in a very tight turquoise sleeveless t shirt and even tighter clam diggers (Lupe told him he was pushing the season a tad, but he laughed and told us it was the only clean pants he had. (Mon Dieu!). The General found him delightful (truth be told, so did Lupe). So we asked him where we should dine and the sweet thing recommended Henlopen City Oyster House and we invited him to join us which he did. He said he hadnt had enough protein for a few days and that he loved oysters. Well, needless to say so do Lupe and the General. (Lupe personally believes that what they say about oysters is true. Heaven knows they always act like a tonic on the General). And the bartender makes perfect Bombay Gin Martinis up and they so very much complimented the succulent oysters served at Henlopen Oyster House. I dont remember how many dozen we had (oysters i mean), but that night but Lupe can assure you that we all had our share of protein. Then we all had the Mussels. Lupe and the General LOVE mussels. Eddie (I believe that was our servers name) was knowledgeable, friendly, and he didnt rush us for a moment. We each then had a different piece of fish that was as perfectly cooked and delish as Lupe has had...even in Cabo. Lupe's only criticism is that the decor is a little sparse. More Louis and less warehouse would warm things up a tad. But Lupe and the General will return to Henlopen City Oyster House again! A perfect restaurant! Our young friend then escorted us to a lovely establishment called the LL for more cocktails. My goodness, Lupe was reminded of a few clubs in Berlin, Paris, and Amsterdam in the good old days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LupeLaFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Oysters, Best Oyster Stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We're locals and this place rocks! I'm an oyster stew fanatic and this has the best I've ever tasted. We'll brave the traffic to go into Rehoboth for the food here. Everything we've ever had was outstanding. They have several kinds of oysters on the menu, as well as clams, seafood and terrific mac and cheese. Chef is amazing. Oh, and the Bloody Marys and homemade Sangria are very interesting as well. Good Happy Hour specials 4-6. Wait staff and food is always consistently good - I hope this restaurant never changes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunbern52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Rehobeth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went in March, 2013 for dinner. We didn't have to contend with any crowds as Rehobeth was deserted. The seafood was the best I've had in Rehobeth in over 20 years of visiting.
Each dish is individually prepared, in a creative way. This also takes time, so be prepared to wait.
Staff very nice with excellent knowledge of the menu, wines and beer selection.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oysters extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We started at their happy hour with fried oysters, steamed shrimp. And craft beers. Then proceeded to dinner with an oyster sampling, and wonderful fish dishes. What a treat, we can't wait for a repeat performance. The clientele, service, and overall ambiance was superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jorgeBelmontBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing