We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Go here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can't believe we just went for the first time this weekend. Excellent food! I got a steak, and my wife got the lobster mac and cheese. Both were amazing. It does fill up fast, and there are no reservations, so if you do check it out, either eat at an off time, or leave plenty of time to wait. There was a wait in the dead of January with snow on the ground, so I can't imagine how packed it is in summer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    208
    55
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant in Rehoboth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love Henlopen City, it is on our "must visit" list every time we are in town. The seafood is the freshest anywhere, the menu is updated regularly, and locally sourced when possible. The servers are polite and knowledgeable, and the venue is attractive. There can be a long wait sometimes, but the answer is to arrive early, put your name on the list and walk around for a bit. It can be a little loud at times, but that is because it is a likely place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Seating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Like the food but poor seating... Went on a slow slow night only 1 other table. We were sat in a corner which was great for our group... Just completed a nice meal and wanted to have a couple of drinks and talk... and what did the host do sat 2 people right next to us... We could barely get out of the booth due to the people seating so close to us... the restaurant was empty... Why would you do this?... This caused us to leave... The owner was there that night and not overseeing his restaurant... Poor Service and we may not go back due to this... 5 girls night out...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beach037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's good..but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've gone here a few times being from the area. (I Hate the word 'locals') ..I really do like the Oysters and seafood here. The problem is..the bar. Very uncomfortable. Little half curved stools of wood with no backs. Can't sit for too long. Guess that is their reason behind them..LOL. People in, People out...We are more of a Pub couple and like a warmer atmosphere. But if you want great oysters..this is the place, just go elsewhere for a nice cocktail and some comfy conversation. We found Abbott's Grill up in Milford to fit the bill..Fresh shucked Oysters on Weekends along with Happy Hour prices for drinks and food. Also, cozy and comfortable. Outside patio and bar with outdoor fireplace for the Spring, Summer and Fall season. Worth the short jaunt up Rt. 1.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneCoastal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best oysters and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the time you walk in and get a glass of wine from Amy or Tina chatting with Joe or Chris you know you are the right place. The oysters, WOW and my favorite the lobster mac n cheese !!
Always busy some be prepared to wait, worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing