We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen City Oyster House

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

During a recent holiday weekend in Rehobath Beach we had dinner at the Oyster House. What a treat. There were four of us and we were all very pleased. I had the fried oysters and they were cooked to perfection with a very tartly broccoli and cauliflower medley on the plate as well as red cabbage. All ingredients were fresh. My husband had a sampling of raw oysters and he commented on how "buttery" they were and fresh as well. Our friends has the "wreck fish platter, calamari and Caesar salad." Everyone was pleased with lots of "oohs and ahhs" at the table. The atmosphere was positive and upbeat and the waiters were very efficient. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    211
    57
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here for an early dinner on NYE. Called ahead just to make sure we could get in and no problems. Service was wonderful. Great Beer selection, even had a Cask selection. Calamari appetizer was very good. I got the Sable Fish for dinner which was very good (mild). My wife got the scallops which were out of this world. Definitely will be back to eat some oysters!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“They are doing it right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We love this place. Great food and drink. Happy hour is one of the best in town. We enjoyed the lobster roll and Reuben. They are very passionate about the beer and food and it shows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodienaptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you love oysters . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My favorite restaurant in Rehoboth -- great food, drinks, staff and menu. Happy hour is the best - reduced drinks and appetizers. Fried oyster dinner is excellent and the choice of sides are far different than you would expect for an oyster house . .. great food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Seafood galore. Delicious. Can be a long wait. If you like seafood in a casual atmosphere, this is for you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing