We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood & Drinks, Reasonably Priced”

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood & Drinks, Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I ate here twice during one week in September. Food was consistently good and fair priced (disclosure: we live near DC so we're used to paying a lot for decent seafood). We liked the overall feel and decor of the restaurant, and the servers seemed pretty knowledgeable about the food and drinks, and were able to give good suggestions. We plan to visit again the next time we are in Rehoboth!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OCtrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    220
    64
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Bartender & Staff Friendly”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Popped in this Sunday for happy hour. Had the raw oysters (shucked there on the spot) special. $7 for half dozen. House wines just $3 a glass. The oysters were sublime, well, all the food here is! If you are a fan of Oysters this place should not be missed, and the happy hour allows you to enjoy them without breaking the bank.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious Oysters”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Decided to have my very first oyster experience ever here. Although I was apprehensive, the oysters were super fresh and delicious. great bloody mary's and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. A truly enjoyable dining experience

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seafood done the right way”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This a new favorite place when I come to visit Rehoboth Beach. They have a large selection of Oysters and the rest of the food is fresh farm to table. They have a great beer selection and a well thought out drink and wine selection.
I had the classic Oyster Stew and my wife has the seafood chowder, both were excellent. We both had the Mahi Mahi and were not disappointed.
There are no reservations here - first come first serve, so there might be a wait. I thought it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1foodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oyster Nirvana”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great place for oysters - selection varies & quality is superior. Happy hour at the bar provides a more affordable experience, though dining should not be missed. In season, the soft shell crabs were tender & light; fried oysters rock & the raw oyster sampler is tasty. The horseradish is homemade & exquisite. Downside is the wait, even in the off-season. Service is mostly friendly & helpful, though we have had one or two waitstaff who weren't helpful with drink selections. A top hit in RB!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aplace4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing