We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour Bartender & Staff Friendly”

Henlopen City Oyster House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Lewes, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Bartender & Staff Friendly”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Popped in this Sunday for happy hour. Had the raw oysters (shucked there on the spot) special. $7 for half dozen. House wines just $3 a glass. The oysters were sublime, well, all the food here is! If you are a fan of Oysters this place should not be missed, and the happy hour allows you to enjoy them without breaking the bank.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    219
    64
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious Oysters”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Decided to have my very first oyster experience ever here. Although I was apprehensive, the oysters were super fresh and delicious. great bloody mary's and lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. A truly enjoyable dining experience

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seafood done the right way”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This a new favorite place when I come to visit Rehoboth Beach. They have a large selection of Oysters and the rest of the food is fresh farm to table. They have a great beer selection and a well thought out drink and wine selection.
I had the classic Oyster Stew and my wife has the seafood chowder, both were excellent. We both had the Mahi Mahi and were not disappointed.
There are no reservations here - first come first serve, so there might be a wait. I thought it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1foodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oyster Nirvana”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great place for oysters - selection varies & quality is superior. Happy hour at the bar provides a more affordable experience, though dining should not be missed. In season, the soft shell crabs were tender & light; fried oysters rock & the raw oyster sampler is tasty. The horseradish is homemade & exquisite. Downside is the wait, even in the off-season. Service is mostly friendly & helpful, though we have had one or two waitstaff who weren't helpful with drink selections. A top hit in RB!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aplace4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you love fresh seafood you must come here”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was our 10th visit and we have never been disappointed. The oyster selection is always tasty, the lobster Mac and cheese to die for. I usually order one of their daily catch dinners which are delicious.Their cocktails have improved. We had some excellent pumpkin spice martinis.Beer selection is great. Service can be inconsistent and the noise is a bit overwhelming when the place is full. Not a romantic setting but fun. Go early for better seating and quieter atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henlopen City Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Henlopen City Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing