We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cilantro Cocina De Mexico

Cilantro Cocina De Mexico
Ranked #71 of 269 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food was excellent. Service was very courteous and prompt. The waiter's dessert recommendation was perfect. The restaurant was busy - as expected for a Saturday evening - but not overly noisy. It was the perfect beginning to our 4-day stay in Rehoboth Beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    73
    32
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican food in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Cilantro is a lovely little Mexican restaurant. We went for a late lunch, but still the bar was full of late lunch/early dinner diners. The menu has a good selection of familiar items, plus some authentic Mexican dishes. Fish tacos were great, as were the chicken enchiladas with verde sauce. The only tiny down side to the restaurant was the continuous disco sound track playing rather loudly. The first 5 or 6 songs were a fun stroll down memory lane, but then it just got tiresome. Traditional music, played quietly, would have made it easier for conversation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We saw this restaurant on a recent Tuesday night and it was packed. We went back on Wednesday night and they were not that busy. We had a very nice waitress, although she didn't quite understand how I wanted my margarita (Iprefer them shaken and strained) and when I watched the bartender she didn't use 1800 as the menu stated. These are the two reason I didn't give them 5 stars. The food was very good. My husband had the stuffed poblano pepper with pork, I had the stuffed poblano with cheese. They were very tasty and we enjoyed them. My only suggestion would be to add a stuffed pablano pepper with chicken. I don't eat pork and would have preferred chicken instead of just cheese. Oh and the mojitos were excellent! As opposed to some of the reviews I have read, our food was very hot and the cheese was nice and melted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A grand mama producing honest and down to Earth mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Few cuisines i admit exude a pair sense of freshness and it's true the "real" mexican food is still exotic and classy even if the proliferation of chains understates its greatness. Cilantro is a mild restaurant with a grand mama commanding the kitchen, you hardly can perceive the earthy temperament here and after the starting spicy blast the fragrance from the food slides soon in a sort of smooth, green smell, may be too pale and gentle. Anyway this remains a great restaurant, not part of a chain, producing honest & tasteful food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r0mHiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thought we'd give cilantro's a try. I love Mexican & it was close to our hotel. I was hoping for some "good Mexican" I must say the reviews are right on..it's mediocre at best. I wish I could do a "redo" and try have tried somewhere else. The flavors were bland. The food wasn't anything special it wasn't even hot (temp)..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitchermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro Cocina De Mexico also viewed

Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Cilantro Cocina De Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing