We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best ice cream in DE and MD shore”

The Ice Cream Store
Ranked #4 of 27 Dessert in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (302) 227-4609
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“By far the best ice cream in DE and MD shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

They have so many great choices that you can sample. Some you have to sign a waiver (ghost cayenne peppers!). This is worth the stop off when walking on the boardwalk. You can't get any better on ice cream than here....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icudoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Lots of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lots of choices, they are very friendly and let you taste as much as you like. The flavors I got were great. Can get really crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ice cream is excellent...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stick to the homemade flavors. They are better by far. They also let you try as many flavors as you want, which is nice. My family had crack with nuts, cookie monster, red velvet, pink mint with chocolate chip, peanut butter oreo, peanut butter chocolate, and butter pecan. We all loved it. While I saw a bad review wrt price, different scoopers scoop different amounts. Also, I found out the waffle cone is supposed to come with three scoops. It was cheaper than our cold stone creamery back home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

They have so many flavors your head will spin! Not only do they have delicious ice cream but out of this world smoothies. There is always a line for ice cream but it is worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroWest Boston
Level Contributor
190 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Better than Sex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Better than Sex is just one of the names of some of this delicious ice cream located about half a block from the boardwalk on Rehoboth Avenue. I think the ice cream is excellent and rivals my all time favorite ice cream from the Scoop Deck in Wells Maine.

My best tip (which I wish I had know before our first trip) is to go on line before you visit to read the description of all the ice creams. Given the names, you may have no idea what the flavor might be. On my first visit I made my selection based upon a combination of a free taste and a recommendation from the young lady helping us. I had Mayan Chocolate Cinnamon which was billed as a recipe by Ben Franklin. It has a little kick as it is infused with cayenne pepper! I also had Buttery Salted Caramel which won 2nd place at the 2012 National championship. It really was amazing. My husband had Snickers as he is a snickers lover and was not disappointed. My son had a float and was quite happy.

This is just a store front and there is no place to sit inside the shop, however there are plenty of benches located on the boardwalk or across the street in the band stand.

I thought the service was good and I can see where timing is important as who does not want delicious ice cream while visiting the beach. I am planning to make this my lunch today!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttercup92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice Cream Store also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to The Ice Cream Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing