We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Unexpected Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mixx and Mingle - CLOSED

Mixx and Mingle
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: American Fusion restaurant located in downtown Rehoboth Beach, Delaware featuring both small and large plates. Mixx has an extensive martini menu. Reservations are suggested
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We read trip advisor reviews before a recent trip and reserved a table on a Thursday night when they have their buy one get one free entree night. Because of the great deal, we weren't expecting the level of food we got. The short ribs were out of this world, and with 8 of us out for dinner, we saved a bunch of money! Everything we had was fantastic, from the salads to the crab cakes and steaks, but the short ribs were exceptional!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phila
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“wonderful fusion food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my second visit to Mixx in a 2 weeks. This time not only was there amazing food, but since it was tuesday nite, live music. The small plates were perfect, two small plates were plenty and allowed us to try different foods. Staff was great, music wonderful and food delicious... can't wait to return..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellenotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Funky Place, So So Crab Cakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose MIXX over several other options for a recent dinner on our trip to the DE Shores. Special that evening - BOGO entrees, or "'large plates". We both love crab cakes so we tried them at MIXX. Shredded instead of lump crab meat - more of a croquette than a true crab cake. Taste was OK, just not the texture that we like in a crab cake. We didn't walk away totally disappointed - hey, BOGO is a great deal and I liked the asparagus and mashed potato accompaniments. Other diners we raving about their entrees and the short rib dish and steak caprese looked very good so we may return. Service was OK; happy to greet us, some avoidance issues after that. Funky atmosphere; small, cozy basement, fun art.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy drinks, good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I went on a Saturday night in the pooring rain. We called ahead to say we needed options for a vegetarian and they couldn't have been more interested and helpful. It was pooring (a deluge) outside (August 25th - what a storm!) and they let us borrow an umbrella so we could make it to the entrance from our car a half a block away. They were ready to help us dry off when we got through the door. It was almost like coming home to family ! Then we were given a lot more help with the vegetarian options and i came for the macademia encrusted rockfish. When we were trying to figure out what drink to order from a long list of yummy looking options, the bartender, Ginger, came over to help us. We started with the Hayden (cucumber martini) which was very smooth. I moved on to a Staffy which has Campari in it - very delicious ! The rockfish was out of this world - truly one of the best fish I've ever had. My girlfriend loved her veggie stir-fry - said it was good but not out of this world. We ended with both desert "bites" - the chocolate mousse was our favorite but the s'mores was tastey too. Great idea.
We will definitely make this a repeat experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
155 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Always a good value and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The menu changes often and the choices are fun and always creative. Apps and Salads are great for sharing and the desserts are always tasty!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeagleDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mixx and Mingle also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing