We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Night Out”
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 292 Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: ...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Family of seven with two toddlers. The restaurant accommodated the youngsters and made us all feel welcome. The waitress (Sara) was incredibly patient, making multiple stops to make sure everything was satisfactory. The appetizers of mussels (fantastic broth), clams, and Tuna were excellent. The fish stew was incredible. The crab cakes were packed with crab meat and cooked to perfection. Just a wonderful experience. Make a reservation, don't be one of those people waiting on the sidewalk and hoping for a cancellation.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the great review! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Sara and the rest of our team!

- Salt Air Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 882 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2018

WOW! To get right to the points, I enjoy crab cakes and I've eaten them at hundreds of different restaurants around the country and the ones at Salt Air Kitchen are quite simply, hands down, the best I've ever tasted. Saying that it's all crab and no filler is just the start. The inside is the most delectable, moist, sweet crab and the outside is cooked just right. As fantastic as it is on its own, a little of the chili remoulade that it's served with adds a whole other dimension. I've provided pictures of both as proof! And if the crab cake wasn't already amazing, the summery sides included with it made it all the more perfect: an heirloom cherry tomato, onion & cucumber salad; and a red skin potato salad. Crab cakes aside, The Salt Air Caesar salad was adequate. Service was professional and efficient. And the decor of the restaurant is a lot of fun. There's lots going on with it and it's at the same time interesting, tasteful and eclectic, fitting perfect with the "beach picnic" menu. I don't have kids, but happened to notice the kids menu on their website and it might just join the crab cakes as being the best ever (shrimp & grits, steak, even a crab cake!).

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the great review and feedback, Bill! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the crab cakes, and salads! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team, and we hope to see you again!

- Salt Air Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

We love Salt Air so much we scheduled 2 visits in our week there. I still love it but something with the food didn't have the same feelings as previous years experiences. My first night I had the steak with chimichurri sauce and it was nothing special. The steak wasn't seasoned and the sauce was at best average. My wife had the same experience with the scallops, lacked flavor. The wings, however, are probably the best I've ever had and was part of the reason we kept out 2nd reservation. The first server we had some minor service issues and wasn't as polished as others we have had. The 2nd visit was about the same. This time I had wings for dinner (although they brought out as an app which we clearly stated it was for dinner) and the burger. The burger was fine. We will return next year but probably only 1x. I hope this trip was an anomaly and next year is back to excellent status.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank EBABWBMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the great feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed wings. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and hospitality, and we apologize that on your past two visits we fell short. We will be sure to address out team, as we would not want you or any guest to have a less than exceptional experience. If ever displease, a manager on duty would be pleased to immediately remedy the issue, or replace a menu item that was not thoroughly enjoyable! We do hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Thanks again,

Salt Air Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner at Salt Air during our recent Rehoboth vacation, as we always do, particularly since it’s a few short steps from our favorite hotel. While it’s always been good, it was a little disappointing this time around. My wife had crab cakes, which she described as not as good as those she had at a neighboring restaurant. I rarely eat fried seafood, but decided to try the fried shrimp. The shrimp could have been much better-while they were large, they didn’t have a lot of taste, and they were greasy-not quite what I would have expected from a place with the reputation of Salt Air. I really felt like the overall philosophy was get ‘em in and get ‘em out-turn that table, rather than a nicer dining establishment, which is what I remember from earlier visits.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank GSCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

GSAin VA
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Salt Air. We have passed these comments on to our chef and we are making sure that we offer the best seafood in Rehoboth. Our crab cakes are one of our best sellers and get great reviews on how good they are as well as the fried shrimp. This is not the norm for us and we hope you visit us again soon so we can show you that this is who we are.
Thank you,
The Salt Air Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner. Excellent food and atmosphere. Enjoyed all the little touches that made it unique. Wished we had saved room for dessert. They sounded excellent

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ValueTraveler19454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine L, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Thank you for the great review!

- Salt Air Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing