We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: ...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Keedysville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by for Happy Hour at the recommendation of our B&B hosts. The bar was lively but we were waited on quickly. The drinks were really great. Had the orange crush, blueberry lemonade and a dogfish beer. We got the cheese platter and the fried salted almonds. Excellent variety on the cheese platter and the almonds were really good. Highly recommend the bar and would like to try the restaurant next tine.

Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed our happy hour and we highly suggest the cheese board as well!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    170
    45
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful ending to a wonderful week”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our extended family of 11 was so pleased with our experience dining at Salt Air and everyone regardless of age found something wonderful to eat and drink. I recommend early reservations and we were so well attended by the very competent waitstaff that the dinner had the perfect pace. Steak and seafood were our choices and we are all foodies, half from the Northwest and we loved the entrees and salads. My sister and I were originally from this area and we thought the food captured the best of this region even though we have lived elsewhere for 40 years. There is certainly many mediocre meals to be found in any vacation spot but Salt Air would be a favorite if I lived locally and I look forward to an encore meal during my next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Char O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your first experience at Salt Air. We look forward to your return!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a bad option”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is where half stars come in handy. Not really a 3, but did not earn a 4.

Went with another couple after deciding on Salt Air. First time here, and had heard good things about the place. Can't say I left disappointed, but was not overwhelmed either.

Much like the rest of the week, found that we were either very lucky or it was a slow week, because we had very little problem getting a table. I got a 16 dollar cheeseburger that was actually pretty darn good, 16 bucks good? Well, you know, its Rehoboth. Some of the best fries I have had in a long time. My wife and other couple seemed satisfied with their meals.

Back to the burger. To be fair, I am generally a picky eater, but to look over an entire menu and not be able to find something seafood wise that can work, is a slight problem. Way too often these restaurants need to get back to the basics, instead of feeling they have to go crazy with odd additions and such. Sucks when you are ready for something tasty, and everything on the menu is super quirky. Again, might be a me problem too, but i have been to many "high end" restaurants where I could find something besides a burger thats almost 20 bucks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gar724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you could not find a seafood option that you would enjoy. We do our best to create a menu with variety to please each guest. We hope for your return.

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Halibut and Scallops”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We checked out Salt Air after visiting Nage for the past few years, and we were not let down. We were seated immediately (we had reservations) and our drink orders were taken quickly.

It seems they pride themselves mostly on mixed drinks, then wine, then beer. The beer list was a bit short, but in Rehoboth, Dogfish Head is rarely left off the menu as the go-to beer.

On top of the drinks, the restaurant provides chips with a cream cheese/ goat cheese dip which is quite tasty.

Since it's farm-to-table, we decided to split one of the salads for an appetizer and it tasted fresh.

The main course came out quite presentable. The halibut is certainly thick and juicy. It is a bit on the large side for portions as it came with potatoes, chowder, and rainbow carrots. The wife ordered the scallops which also was on the large side.

The coffee for dessert was decent, nothing mind-blowing.

On the service: Our server was diligent with checking-in, drink refills, and delivery. It seemed the manager even paid a visit to our table to see how everything went.

This restaurant is definitely worth a visit if one is in Rehoboth. They pride themselves on farm-to-table which is definitely appealing if anyone is familiar with Delaware's ever-present farm stands. As with any restaurant, large tables may have to wait longer. Parking looks like it could also be an issue. We chose to ride our tandem to the restaurant which made things much easier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for you review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Recently taken over by Big Fish”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Salt Air started as terrific restaurant on a par with its neighbor, Henlopen Oyster House. It has changed hands an is now run by the owners of Big Fish Grill. I ordered diver scallops which I recommend to any seafood lover. My drink was good, the waitress was attentive, the seating and atmosphere were pleasant, but the wait was long. I have to admit that I expected the wait. It is summer at the beach and July 4th week. salt is a solid 4.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for you review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing