We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Air Kitchen

Salt Air Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Haskell, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location about 2 blocks from the beach. The food was great, nice selection, also had a nice selection of gluten free choices. We had a large group of 12, two of which was a 7 and 9 year old. The service was good, accommodating and friendly, the staff was very familiar with the menu and specials when questioned about food items. Food was fresh, especially the fish. Would definitely go back next time in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBHaskell_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    155
    44
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific food in Rehoboth Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the only restaurant we visited during our week in Rehoboth Beach that was so good, it warranted a return visit.

NOTE: The place is packed. Get a reservation if you can, or, consider having an early dinner before the place gets crowded. Lines stretched in front of the place with people waiting to get in.

Service is friendly and prompt. For some reason, there were a lot of people bringing kids in to the place -- somewhat unusual for an upscale place, but we were lucky. They were well behaved for the most part.

The rooms are spacious, but somewhat noisy.

For starters, had a "dark and stormy" cocktail, served in a mason jar. It was delicious, and cost around $10. The next time we went, I had a Heineken. My waitress asked if I wanted a glass, and I said yes. Out came another mason jar. Beer in a mason jar doesn't seem to work as well as a pilsner glass or mug, but what the hey!

They serve delicious flat bread to start, along with a garlic butter spread. Delicious! We had to get a reload both evenings (more on this later).

My wife had a salad both nights to start. She raved about it, particularly the house dressing (more on this, too). I had the beet/goat cheese salad one night (delicious) and the corn/crab chowder the next (also very enjoyable if not a bit on the heavy side).

The first night I had the day boat scallops which were huge, sweet, and tender. Excellent. The second night, I wanted to go for something completely different, so I had the "deconstructed lasagna" which was nice and flavorful, with a healthy portion being served, but the pasta was a bit mushy.

Neither my wife nor I had room for dessert, but the offerings were tempting. I ended things with a double espresso with a shot of sambuca and left satisfied.

Now, the bummer. You can buy the salad dressing, and flat bread from the restaurant if you want. We wanted, but the flatbread was $15/pkg...pretty expensive if you ask me. We didn't want to take it, because we weren't ready to go home and figured we'd pick some up on getaway day. Our waiter said we could get it at the "Big Fish Grill" market on route 1. So off we went. What a shock to find out that it was only $3/package for the flat bread there. COME ON GUYS! No need to take advantage of customers like that. FIVE TIMES THE MARK UP (probably more if they're buying at wholesale prices). That's the only bad thing I have to say.

Check out and enjoy the Salt Air. Just don't buy any take-homeables!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know you had an enjoyable experience at Salt Air. The flat bread costs more when purchased at Salt Air because the portion is much more than if you purchase it at the Big Fish Market. We hope to see you again soon!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Apres Beach Wedding Dinner---A Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

On August 26, 2013, we had our wedding reception dinner at Salt Air. My partner and I married after 30 years and our group was small but precious to us. We wanted dinner to be very special and Salt Air delivered. The Manager, David, was very helpful from the very beginning. He welcomed our phone calls and always gave good advice. The meals were delicious and everyone enjoyed what they ordered from the menu. Our servers, Brittany and Darryl could not have been nicer. They were warm, efficient and shared our very happy mood. The Pastry Chef, Maggie, designed a fabulous beach themed cake complete with gorgeous chocolate shells. Our party was 16 people and we were able to reserve two tables. The room wasn't private but it worked perfectly. We will always remember our wonderful celebration made even more special because of the quality of Salt Air's staff. Thanks again!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MimiConsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Salt Air for your wedding reception dinner! We are happy to know you had a special and memorable experience!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Culinary Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant after not being able to get in to another highly recommended eatery. What an amazing experience! From the moment we stepped through the door we knew this place was special. Be prepared to wait. We enjoyed our drinks in a very comfortable & friendly bar area. There is also seating right outside the restaurant. Once seated, we were served our drinks immediately & the server was happy to answer questions and make menu suggestions. Although this was a very busy Saturday night, we didn't wait very long for our meals. But it would have been worth the wait. We ordered several apps & then followed up with a shrimp dish & a seafood stew that was the best I've ever had. I would have gone to this restaurant every, single night of our vacation if I could have. It was that good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Codysmom4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are happy you stumbled upon us and that Salt Air was able to be a special part of your vacation!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Energetic setting worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

There is normally a wait but early diners can sometimes get lucky. The front of the house seems a bit overwhelmed and th e wait staff could be more attentive. Having dined there several times the food keeps us returning. The crackers are outstanding. The brick chicken very tender and the seafood choices seem fresh and well prepared. Overall the atmosphere is fresh, art work lovely in a well designed space.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ENC342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke B, Manager at Salt Air Kitchen, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback! We are pleased to know the food keeps you coming back!

Brooke Bennett
Big Fish Restaurant Group Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Air Kitchen also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Salt Air Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing