We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At Melissa's B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Melissa's B & B
Ranked #4 of 14 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Charming and Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I have stayed at this B & B before, and always go back. Great setting a block from the beach. The rooms are comfortable and relaxing. The front porch is a great place to let the afternoon pass reading a book and enjoying her wine. Looking forward to the next time that I can get away and spend more time At Melissa's

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbumsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Melissa's Place is the BEST bed and breakfast in Rehoboth. If you are looking for the most accommodating, lovely, generous and fun inkeeper look no further!! Melissa Clink has thought of everything that will make your stay wonderful.
Once you've been here you'll not only return, but you will never want to leave.
Thank you Melissa for everything.
xo,
Cary

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

I had the pleasure of spending a night with friends at Melissa's B&B in Rehoboth Beach. The house is charming, rooms are quite comfortable and cheerily decorated. Every amenity is provided, from beach towels to soft drinks, to wine in the afternoons. Melissa is a great hostess and makes sure her guests have everything they need. I have been going to Rehoboth Beach for well over 12 years now and Melissa has the competition beat hands down. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePhillyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
441 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We only started writing reviews in earnest last year although TA is our travel bible. We post negative comments only when the hype fails to match the real thing. In the case of AT MELISSA'S, the all the positive reviews are spot on beginning with the description of the outstanding owner-inn keeper, Melissa. She is a real gem. She has even invested in a commercial kitchen to serve her guests. Everything you need to enjoy the beach is there as she supplies everything except your bathing suit, but I bet if you needed one it will be there. Our room was comfortable and clean, breakfast great (loved Melissa's peach cobbler, waffles, too), all the amenities we needed were there, complimentary adult refreshments, too, and the guests very friendly as helpful because all except us were repeat guests. I could go on, but the 2008 reviews I read below are very accurate and convinced us to book a week at the beach. I would only add that fact that Melissa has a number of repeat visitors should tell you enough. And, you can now count us among them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

I have been staying at B&B's in Rehoboth for a very long time (20+ years) and my husband since we got married.

I stumbled on At Melissa's from reading reviews on trip advisor and once again trip advisor didn't fail me!!

This was our first time "At Melissa's" and it stands out from all the rest of the Rehoboth B&B's with the sheer number of amenities she (Melissa) has for her guests; beach bags, beach chairs, umbrellas, sodas & water bottles (neat coin-free soda machine out back), plenty of towels and coolers (with ice from an ice machine) to bring to the beach. Then when you get back from the beach she has white & red wine and beer! She also has small snacks out all day - which makes it nice for a quick snack b/f dinner. Just wonderful!

Breakfast was very yummy. She has yogurt, cereal, pastries, fruit, coffee (neat coffee machine), tea, juice, milk, water... etc. and best of all - make your own waffles. She also had a cheese & potato dish Sunday morning.

The rooms were very clean & cozy - we were in room 1 - first floor. It was very nice, but no TV in the room which my husband had a little withdrawal - but she does have a TV in the main room - so he was fine.

Distance to the beach is a very short walk - block and a half away - can't beat it.

Melissa as a host is so hospitable, very friendly and great to talk to. She's quit the traveler too and we loved hearing about the places she has been. She remembers your names right off the bat and makes it a point to introduce you to other guests - which is really nice!!

This truly is the beach house we wish we could have!
We'll def. be back!

  • Liked — the amenities and location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ltbluek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

We go to Rehoboth beach every year and this was our first stay at Melissa's. We were very upset that we didn't find this place sooner! Melissa is a marvelous host and her house is great - perfect location with great big porch for reading, relaxing and socializing. She has beach bags, beach towels, etc available for you to take down to the beach so you don't have to worry about bringing any of this with you. Happy hours and breakfasts on the porch were very nice...a great way to meet the other guests. I highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Don't let the fact that pictures on the Web for ...at Melissa's are hard to come by. She likes to remodel quite a bit and mentioned that she's worried guests might complain that pictures aren't representative of the house at the time of their visit.

My wife, our 2 1/2 year-old daughter, and myself (as well as two of our friends and their daughter) stayed at ...at Melissa's B&B from Sunday through Wednesday this past week. The house is an old Victorian that was built back in 1910. It is beautiful with a nice big porch to relax on. She is renovating all the rooms from top to bottom in the off season. We were able to see the suite on the third floor that has already been renovated and it is AMAZING! We were there in late June and somehow never had a problem with bugs while relaxing on the porch.

Melissa is a wonderful host and we didn't feel like our daughter or her friend, while well-behaved, was any imposition. Melissa makes you feel like you are at home. She gives you full use of her kitchen if you need it; you can use a refrigerator she provides for the guests. if you want to buy stakes and grill them on her grill in the back, you have that option. The back yard is nice and secluded with an enclosed outdoor shower and plenty of tables with umbrellas.

Breakfast was simple but good. We could choose between waffles, sausage or bacon, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs and cereal and probably more things I am forgetting. You serve yourself and it's nice to take the food out and relax on her covered porch. She also has a really nice professional coffee/espresso machine that is available 24/7 and wine and beer are free and available all day as well. She's even got a tray set up for bloody marys and in the morning, you can make mimosas.

Finally, for our daughter, Melissa keeps a cabinet of toys available and as we like to wind her down at night with a DVD, there was a TV in the common area with a DVD player. Melissa also provides beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, coolers, water, soda etc... to take down to the beach.

  • Liked — The owner makes you feel at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank iBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#6 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Melissa's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa's B & B

Property: At Melissa's B & B
Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At melissa's, a 100+ year old beach house, situated one block west of the beach and 1 block north to dining, shopping & entertainment. No cars needed here. Reminiscent of days gone by, this 100% gluten free b&b boasts a gracious front porch for whiling away the hours, be it chatting, reading or enjoying a cool refreshment. Each room, tastefully decorated has private baths, internet access and individual ac. A charming backyard with a wonderful outdoor shower, ideal when returning from the beach or just to laze about. Complimentary bike rental to enjoy the many parks and trails all around. A beautiful place where guests become friends and still continue after 22 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Melissa's B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing