We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Cozy - At Melissa's”
Review of At Melissa’s B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Melissa’s B&B
Ranked #5 of 13 Rehoboth Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

At Melissa's is a cute, old-fashioned beach house two blocks from the beach and boardwalk along Delaware Avenue, and is within two blocks walking distance of all the shops on Rehoboth Avenue, as well as restaurants. The home is about 100 years old, with gray clapboard and a big front porch with cute white wicker furniture. Our room on the second floor was nicely decorated with a king-sized bed and extra day bed, in sunny yellow and blue colors with a teddy bear. The bath was directly across the hall and came with a key so you could lock it. While we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it was still pleasant to come home to after the beach, or after dinner each night. The bathroom was small, but nice enough, except it tended to get steamy and hot in there, as there was only an electric fan on the back of toilet to take the humidity out, and could be a little claustrophobic, but served its purpose. Clean towels are available upon request, and the room is cleaned daily. Melissa herself was very friendly and helpful and provided whatever you needed (including a parking pass for the Henlopen Acres beach parking lot) as well as wireless Internet. Each morning she served up a nice buffet breakfast which was ready when you woke up, with wonderful waffles and a waffle iron to cook them with yourself; blueberries, strawberries, sausage, eggs, cereal, juices, yogurt and other fruits. The breakfast menu varied slightly from day to day, but was always delicious. Guests could eat on her front porch, or in the dining room where there was a big table with several chairs, as well as a smaller table; or gather just to talk, and spend time in the dining room, as well as the cozy living room where there was a TV inside of the armoire, along with toys for children to play with. The back of the home had a marvelous kitchen, and there were also some picnick tables outside and a grill, as well as a soft drink vending machine, with free drinks for your trips to the beach. Parking was a little tight along the back and side of her home, but she still managed to squeeze in five or so large cars there, but backing in is required from the street into the driveway and your assigned spot. There are beach chairs, towels and umbrellas too, that you can use daily. The beach chairs however had been soaked with rain, and had a bit of rust on them which was something to be careful of so it didn't come off on your towel, clothes, or car. The house itself had had narrow stairs with two rooms at the bottom of the stairs, as well as three or so on the second level, and a fourth one up another flight of stairs on the top level, large enough for a family. The hallway to the rooms was also very narrow, so carrying luggage could be a little challenging, but still doable. All the people who stayed at the B & B were friendly and nice, with a variety of ages, including families as well as friends - with some who returned each year because they had enjoyed their stay at the house so much, and had become good friends with Melissa! Melissa also gave lots of good restaurant recommendations, which we took advantage of - eating one night at The Oyster Bar down the street, and at another nearby restaurant too. She keeps all the restaurant info and menus stored in her front entrance hallway. All in all, it was a fun, quaint and comfortable place to stay - and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B at the beach. We previously had stayed at The Corner Cupboard Inn which was on the other side of Rehoboth, in Henlopen Acres (on Park Avenue), but is no longer open as an Inn. At Melissa's turned out to be a great alternative, and we were very happy with the choice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rehoboth_DCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed many times at this B& B. It is truly a splendid place. It is very comfy and cozy and well cared for. The front porch is a delight for all. Everyone seems to enjoy it so much. The location is just a block and a half from the ocean and easy walking distance to restaraunts, bars and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbumsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We adore Rehoboth Beach and have been coming here for many years now. What matters most to us are being close to the beach and a great place to stay. At Melissa's B&B met our needs.

This is our first time staying At Melissa's. It's a comfortable beach house that became our wonderful beach home for the week of July 25th, 2011. We stayed in Room 3 on the second floor, and it was spacious, cool and clean. Our rest was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Our private bathroom was across the hall and it was always clean.

Continental breakfast was plentiful and tasty - freshly made waffles, hardboiled eggs, sausages and bacon, fresh fruits and so much more.

There are available for us beach gear such as towels, umbrellas and an outside shower in the backyard with eco-friendly soap, shampoo and conditioner. The outside shower was an absolutely treat for us after a long hot day at the beach!

The best part of At Melissa's is Melissa herself. She's a warm, wonderful hostess and innkeeper. She is the heart of this jewel of a B&B.

We had a truly relaxing family vacation and thanks to Melissa, we also now have a new annual family tradition. The only place for us at Rehoboth Beach will be At Melissa's.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedLadyBug_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

You cannot beat the location, only 1 1/2 blocks to the beach and a short walk to great restaurants and bars. Melissa is the consummate host. So generous and friendly. The B&B was always pristine and the continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. (Loved her quiche!) She has beach chairs, coolers and towels for all to use. You MUST try out the outdoor shower. Just fantastic!

We loved coming back from a late dinner or walk on the beach to relax on the porch with a glass of wine (complementary BTW). The area is surprisingly quiet at night given its close proximity to the boardwalk, shops, etc.. At Melissa's is also gay friendly with a nice mix of people of varying ages. Just a really wonderful experience overall.

We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OKletsgo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was our family's second stay at At Melissa's. We enjoyed our first stay last year so much, that we had to visit again. This summer we spent five days at the Inn and could not have enjoyed our stay more. Melissa simply makes you feel right at home. She almost seems to anticipate your every need. From the bountiful continental breakfast, with loads of fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles, to the free wine, beer and soda, not to mention our morning's Mimosas, Melissa has everything you could want. The Inn itself is just a block and a half to the beach and boardwalk, with Melissa supplying all the beach gear you need. Great restaurants (Melissa's recommendations) are also just a short walk away. The rooms (we stayed in 5 and 6) are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. And the front porch, with cool sea breezes, is a great place to have breakfast or an evening glass of wine. We are definitely planning a trip for next season. Truly a lovely beach Inn, with a wonderful innkeeper, in Melissa.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 on second floor, room 1 on first floor and room 4 for large groups on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KportCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is our second stay At Melissa's and it truly makes the beach experience perfect. The rooms are bright and clean, the open air front porch is an ideal place to spend the day, and the location is equally perfect for access to the beach and shops/dining.  Even more, Melissa offers a delicious breakfast, access to wine and snacks galore, and always offers knowledgable recommendations. Simply could not be better!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mroinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We have been going to At Melissa's for many years now. We started because it is one of the very few B&b's in Rehoboth that accept children. There are so many reasons this place is special - The sheets are heavenly, the toiletries are organic and help save the bees and smell fabulous - the breakfast is amazing with the best belgian waffles everyday and tons of fruit and coffee, capuchino, etc whenever you want, rooms and bathrooms that are updated, quiet and super clean, and charm in every corner of the place. A very large front porch is an extremely popular meeting place for all quests so it is a wonderful place to meet new and different folks from all over but if it is quiet you crave there is a wonderful backyard space too and plenty of spots to just be the two of you. Bookshelves full of books that have accumulated over the years ensure that you will find something you like. Less than 2 blocks to the beach and shopping and lots of restaurants makes it easy to get around. Melissa has all the beach gear you might need so don't pack the chairs and blankets and coolers and umbrellas.Great outdoor shower when you get back too! Free sodas, water, etc and snacks are always around. But most of all enjoy your hostess who is charming herself and is a fountain of information about all that is Rehoboth Beach

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryH0297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#6 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
585 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,226 reviews
0 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Melissa’s B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Melissa’s B&B

Address: 36 Delaware Ave, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At melissa's, a 100+ year old beach house, situated one block west of the beach and 1 block north to dining, shopping & entertainment. No cars needed here. Reminiscent of days gone by, this 100% gluten free b&b boasts a gracious front porch for whiling away the hours, be it chatting, reading or enjoying a cool refreshment. Each room, tastefully decorated has private baths, internet access and individual ac. A charming backyard with a wonderful outdoor shower, ideal when returning from the beach or just to laze about. Complimentary bike rental to enjoy the many parks and trails all around. A beautiful place where guests become friends and still continue after 22 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At Melissa’s B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Melissa`s Hotel Rehoboth Beach
At Melissa`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing