We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a no-frills place”
Review of Anchorage Motel

Anchorage Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchorage Motel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for a no-frills place”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As previous reviewers have said, this is a no-frills motel but clean and a good value. No hand towels, no shampoo, no hair dryer -- but if you're forewarned, you can bring your own. We did not have any problems with noise. You will have to drive to the beach fighting traffic on the coastal highway but that's the case with any hotel along this stretch of the road.

Had a great meal at The Pickled Pig Pub right across the highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiraMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
33
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights - had 3 rooms- all were clean & staff was very friendly. Had mini fridge & microwaves in our rooms- Price was very fair for fourth of July weekend. Just a short drive away from beach & fishing. Would stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As always, I plan at the last minute. Imagine my surprise when I was able to find a place that had a vacancy and was within my price range. The Anchorage was nice, the room was big and clean. It was comfortable and once we put the AC on it did not take long for the room to cool down. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating to my (very) early check-out needs.
The only cons: Not enough towels and a little further from the beach than I would have liked (about 4 miles one way). And stay away from Crabby Dicks next-door: GROSS!!!
All in all a great value. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "tower" are going to be quieter because the motel sits directly off of Coasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rate was great. The room was large. What was missing? There were no hand towels (this is still unusual in hotels/motels, fortunately). There was no comfortable chair, just the desk chair (not particularly comfortable). If the room were arranged properly, there was more than enough room for a chair. The soundproofing was as others have stated. There were two bath towels, not three (sign of a five circle hotel). The room was clean and generally comfortable. This is another place that deserves three and one-half circles if that were available. As I said, it was an excellent value but falls short of four or five circles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage Motel as part of a wedding party. The motel was clean and typical for a beach resort motel. While the motel was clean the bathrooms were somewhat dated and older looking. Either that or they had a lot of wear and tear. The people at check in were very nice and helped us with recommendation and directions to local places to eat. There are zero views from this hotel so do not expect to see anything out your window but a 6 lane highway or the back of a car repair shop. For a road side motel the Anchorage is average if you want a clean bed to sleep in saty here. I would also recommend bringing earplugs because the walls are paper thin. You can hear normal conversations through the walls almost as if they are in the same room as you. You can hear everything, I mean zero noise barrier. We were also woken up by people coming into the motel later at night 2:00am. Not that there was loud partying going till all hours but sometimes when people are saying good night they get a little loud. Some nice things were a 48" flat screen TV w/cable service, and the AC worked good.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, don't say or do anything you don't want your neighbors to hear, because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stumbled on this place by accident and was quite pleased! How refreshing! Front desk person was very nice and helpful! Room was extremely clean and surprisingly big. No frills or extras, but well worth the price. Won't find any cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmtreelover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This motel is the most awesome motel I have ever stayed in. It would easily compare to a Holiday Inn or Quality Suites. The outside is well kept. It was clean, comfortable, all new tile and fiberglass shower so no mold. No bugs. We are home inspectors so we know the difference between "bad" and "good". The beds and pillows are comfortable. You can get a room with a fridge and microwave. We stayed during the week in June for about $60 per night. You just can't find that anywhere in Rehoboth or Bethany.

Ok so why is it so cheap? I don't know but you may miss some of the frills of other hotels. No pictures on the walls, no coffee maker or iron. But we have cable tv with flat screen, WiFi and soap! If you are trying to spend less on a place to stay, this is it! The beaches are not far away. A hotel across the street will cost you $150! Is that worth it for a coffee maker? Another plus is it is right next door to Crabby Dicks....just a walk and no drinking and driving! Okay so one defect...there was a cigarette burn mark on one of the comforters even though we were in a non-smoking room that did not smell like smoke. The clerk at the front desk may not be the happiest of beach employees but that's okay for the price you pay! Happy trails!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
648 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel

Property: Anchorage Motel
Address: 18809 Coastal Highway, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing