We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“liked the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
york,pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“liked the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

We just returned from a one night stay at the Henlopin Hotel. We were on vacation at a different hotel and were due to go home on 8-25 when my husband became very ill from food poisoning, there was no way we could drive 4 hours up the road with him hugging a toilet. I called the place we were staying and asked if our room was booked for that night and they informed me it was. The had another room available but told us it was a two night minimum stay, which we just stayed 5 nights in another room. I felt this was unjustified and refused to stay there another night. I called around for a place to stay and finally found a room at the henlopin. They let us check in as soon as we got there and did not make us wait until the regular check in time of 4:00. I felt they went out of their way to accomodate my husband and I will return to give them more business due to the generosity of the employee there.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    67
    26
    23
See reviews for
111
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Henlopen Hotel. My family has been going there for 2 years. We've always found it to be a nice place to stay for a few nights. A few minor notes-- there is one lady at the front desk in the morning that is rather unpleasant and a bit annoying, but don't let her ruin your stay. Everyone else is just fine. Also, when you look at the Henlopen's website it shows the entire building, don't think all of that is the hotel, the smaller part is. The other side is condominiums. This wasn't a problem with my family because this was our second time there and we have stayed at the condominiums previously. Lastly, there is a pool but it's only for the condominiums. A few positive notes-- there is a restraunt on top of the hotel section called "Salero's" but we never bothered to check it out. But since it is on the rooftop of the hotel it has a great view. The Henlopen is right on the boardwalk and only a short walking distance away from the city center, with all the shops and restraunts. All in all if you want a fairly good hotel, a nice beach to relax on, and a short walking distance to shops stay at the Henlopen Hotel.

  • Liked — Easy walking Distance
  • Disliked — Unfriendly Staff Member
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel is smaller section not larger
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

I will remember my one night stay at the Henlopen for all the wrong reasons. The rooms are nothing like the fairly attractive rooms shown on their website. Upon arrival (we had planned to stay 3 nights) our jaws hit the (dirty) floor upon setting our eyes on the room. It was a depressing, dingy room with spotty carpet. We went back downstairs and asked for a different room which they were able to provide, and it was only a slight improvement over room #1. We decided to tough it out for our stay, but after spending a sleepless night due to an incredibly noisy a/c unit I had to say thanks but no thanks...We walked down to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and checked in regardless of $300/night rate. Henlopen calls itself "Rehoboth's first and finest hotel." First maybe, but worlds away from finest. If you are used to anything above Motel 6, skip Henlopen.

  • Liked — Located right on the beach
  • Disliked — the building itself, rooms were dingy and dirty, beds uncomfortable and a/c way too noisy!
  • Tips/Secrets — If you demand even a hint of comfort and luxury stay out of the Henlopen
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2006

Friendly, accommodating staff; pretty room; very clean rooms; great location - right on the beach & a nice walk to rehoboth ave; great view - room 316; competitive rates; etc, etc.
Some minor details - hotel is an older building, the corridors were clean but aged, the water initially took a few minutes to heat up for showers.
We'll stay there again every time we go to Rehoboth!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed here for while attending the Nascar races in Dover. It was an easy trip back and forth to Dover and close to many great restaurants and shopping. The Hotel itself was clean and had a very friendly staff that went out of their way to accommodate. Room was large and updated. Nice bathroom, large kingsized bed, and a balcony that was ocean veiw. The veiw going to our room was not as nice (roof of neighboring building) but once in our room we were pleasantly surprised. Atmosphere was nice and quiet. I plan on staying there again next year.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kryszkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2006

We stayed at the Henlopen for five days in May, to beat Rehoboth's heavy tourist season. The other upside to going pre-season is the substantial cost reduction, comparatively speaking, from what we would have paid for the same hotel, peak season. The hotel, rooms, and service were all unremarkable, that is to say, about average considering the season. The hotel is half the size it's portrayed in pictures on the website, as the entire right side of the building are owner-occupied condos. While in May the tourists hadn't yet hit, construction had. Our room was in the first row back from the ocean, so we had a good ocean view, but sadly, couldn't hear it over the sound of jackhammers and men shouting from 8am to 5pm. We were told the construction was being done by the condo association and the hotel management was not involved in that part of the business and could not therefor stop it. We weren't using the hotel for more than a place to sleep, so the noise wasn't that bothersome, however I felt the hotel management should have informed me that construction would be occuring during the duration of our stay. I complained until the management agreed to comp one night's stay and later another night's stay because of a problem with the room's bed. Did I mention the elevator was out of service intermitantly? Again, not a problem for us, but possibly an issue for elderly guests. All problems aside, the hotel was average. They supplied free coffee and pastries in the morning we'd take out to the boardwalk and watch the sun rise before coming back to a very clean room and friendly smiles from the staff.

This was my first time staying at a hotel in Rehoboth Beach, as my family has cottages in The Pines neighborhood and we usually stay in one of these when making the trip down. All said, should I have to stay in a hotel in Rehoboth during a future visit, I would choose to stay at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, not the Henlopen.
Addressing some feedback from other reviewers as to dining spots. My recommendations are Breakfast: Boardwalk Plaza Restaurant (part of Boardwalk Hotel), Pasqualini's Bakery; Dinner, on route one: Big Fish Grill or Rehoboth Fish Market for their crab cakes (they will fry there or pack to go). Dinner, within walking distance to boardwalk: Back Porch Cafe, Jakes. For boardwalk fare: Fries: Thrashers; Ice cream: Kors Bros Frozen Custard on Rehoboth Ave. (recommend the vanilla chocolate swirly; Royal Treat or Kings, just across the avenue from Kors Bros, makes it's own award winning ice cream (recommend the coconut with a scoop of triple chocolate); Taffy: Dolle's (it's a tradition, you have to go).

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank suparran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2005

We have just returned from 5 days at the Henlopen Hotel. The hotel is magnificent. They have remodeled the entire Hotel and the lobby was very nice and our hotel room was spacious and clean. Our hotel room provided a wonderful view of the Ocean and the Boardwalk. The hotel provided coffee and danishes in the morning in the lobby. They have a restaurant on the 8th floor and heard it has great food and atmosphere, We did not try it this time but we will next year as we have already made our reservations for next September. They do not have a pool which is a little disappointing but with the remodel...maybe it's in the plans.

We have stayed in many different hotels in Rehoboth Beach and overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in at the beach and I am extremely fussy! The hotel sits right on the boardwalk at the north end of Rehoboth and the beach is right there. We want to thank everyone at the hotel for making our visit a pleasurable one.

Helpful?
11 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#19 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing