We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beachin It!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beachin It!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great stay, only draw back this year was no sun and no beach time.

Our third year in a row and still found congenial staff, and OK accommodation. Rooms definitely need to be updated but they are clean and close to the beach, .. Located right on the boardwalk allows for strolling in the evening giving access to many little shops and activities. Will definitely come again, but next time will try and follow the sun!.

Room Tip: All rooms have some ocean view. So no matter where you stay you can get a glimpse of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELINANTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    87
    64
    25
    23
See reviews for
107
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two-night stay during last week of August...........second floor oceanfront. Location is great. However, for the price, value was less than expected, even considering time of year. Hotel is not particularly attractive, at all...........very plain and somewhat worn. Our entry door lock was a witch to open and attendant could only suggest working with the key..........which was annoying to say the least. Then...........the sliding door did not have any screen..........which was worse than annoying considering we wanted to both see and hear the ocean waves. They finally got us a screen door the second day..........and it kept falling out of the track. Room was functional. Bathroom had large shower along with tub, which was a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask questions about room features..............and ask if they will fix problems immediately or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jersey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is horrible. It is appearent that they has been not capital improvement at this hotel since in was built who knows when. The whole place is rusting out. At somepoint you have to reinvest in the property. Another suggestion would be to outfir the rooms with flatscreen TV's. I don't paying a premium for beachfront space but you have to invest in you property at some point. I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Another great visit to the Henlopen hotel! 3 year sin a row now and already planning next year. Granted the rooms are not up to date, but for the most part clean and comfortable. A/C is loud but room temp was perfect slept great every night. Location is key- right on beach solo perfect walk right out of hotel, wallking distance to boardwalk, shops and great restaurants. very enjoyable:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelnCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located right on the beach, on the far left of Rehoboth's boardwalk, the Henlopen' location is perfect. The hotel rooms are exactly the same as those found in cheap roadside motels (large, can easily sleep four, with basic furniture and a tiny bathroom. The amenities are also cheap motel style: the bedding, towels, and curtains are old, the soap bars are so tiny that you need one per shower. Plastic blind that lets the light in, so forget about sleeping in. Breakfast is just as "cheap"; a self-service very limited continental breakfast.
Unfortunately, the price is very high for what they offer, it varies throughout the season based on demand.
So why do I keep returning? Because it is ever so comfortable to park the car in the garage, walk right down to the beach and to the dozens of nearby restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel knows how to cater to the beach crowd. They understand what you are there for and provide the necessary needs, like extra towels, space to stow beach gear, fridge, balcony to enjoy sunrise or sunset and very a easy few steps to the beach. We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was nothing special, but just fine. We would definitely stay here again. Staff were terrific.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

First let me say, would I stay here again? YES. That's not to say the hotel doesn't have it's issues. Great lobby and front desk, but beyond that the hotel is old and desperately needs updating. Rooms have a key (so used to a card I forgot about room keys). Beautiful ocean views from balcony even if you aren't oceanfront. Old polyester bead spreads and stained carpets are a few improvements they could make. Towels, though clean, we're old. My kids loved walking right out onto the boardwalk. Breakfast provided was all packaged pastries and bagels. The coffee was not good. Front desk was friendly and upbeat and took care of our air conditioning problem right away. We paid over 250 per night but we had a great time, so it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishasHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 North Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing