We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great boardwalk location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great boardwalk location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

First let me say, would I stay here again? YES. That's not to say the hotel doesn't have it's issues. Great lobby and front desk, but beyond that the hotel is old and desperately needs updating. Rooms have a key (so used to a card I forgot about room keys). Beautiful ocean views from balcony even if you aren't oceanfront. Old polyester bead spreads and stained carpets are a few improvements they could make. Towels, though clean, we're old. My kids loved walking right out onto the boardwalk. Breakfast provided was all packaged pastries and bagels. The coffee was not good. Front desk was friendly and upbeat and took care of our air conditioning problem right away. We paid over 250 per night but we had a great time, so it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishasHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
111
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Henlopen Hotel occupies a unique place in Rehoboth Beach. The hotel sits at the very North end of the boardwalk, a very busy boardwalk no less, especially 5 blocks South. So access to all of the commercial action is just a short walk away, which is good.

However, the hotel is also backed by a small lake and a park, which breaks up the pattern of close streets that feed the beach down the rest of the boardwalk. Much like having a double lot in the city, this serves to break up the flow of beach-goers from off the property. The result? The hotel exits right at a beach access point that gets almost exclusive hotel use, meaning a less used section of beach and more beach fun for the family.

We stayed in a standard room. The amenities are fair. The TV is an older CRT. The room is a little cramped. But because of the hotel's U shape opening onto the ocean, the small balcony offers a nice view of the beach even as it opens onto the courtyard.

The breakfast is not up to 21st century Hampton/Marriott standards, but kids still love eating cereal in packages, so hey it works. Those nits keep me from giving 5 stars. But for a base camp to enjoy Rehoboth Beach, to be a part of the party, but then have some quiet when you want it, you should definitely consider the Henlopen.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank harlequinfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wappinger falls new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

had a wonderful time at henlopen hotel room was clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean all staff were very infomative regarding places to dine and places to fish on the beach they were very friendly and gracious will be back again next year very happy with this choice of hotel

Room Tip: side ocean view rooms were wonderful for checking out the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at the Henlopen Hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is great, especially because we were there with our family with grandchildren. It is so convenient to be able to go back and forth to the beach and to be right on the boardwalk. Our room, which was a suite, was very comfortable, and had a view of the ocean from the balcony. Everyone, from the people at the front desk to the staff that cleaned our room, were very friendly and helpful.
This was our first visit to Rehobeth beach and if we return again, would plan to stay at the Henlopen Hotel. The rates are very reasonable for a hotel with such a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorebucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Please do not choose this hotel! It is awful! They try to fool you with the lobby, which is nice. But once you get to your room, beware! The room hasn't been refurbished since the 1970's. It was dirty (there was sand in the bathroom when we checked in and it was still there when we checked out!) and musty. The towels were a joke....worn and thin and only two provided. The staff was rude and unhelpful! The hallways are dirty, sandy and hot. I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and now I wonder how anyone could have given this hotel a good or even decent review?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a few days at the Henlopen Hotel mid July. Every one of the staff from the front desk to the maid staff were friendly and always willing to help or give dining suggestions. I lost a valuable piece of jewelry and the maintenance staff and the management couldn't have been more helpful. It is rare to find such a great group of people in every department of a hotel. I would return and recommend this hotel to anyone. Some of the rooms still are slated for renovation, but the staff is the best I have ever encountered in my travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiLInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very clean, basic room, the staff was very accommodating regarding early check in, late check out, etc. not luxurious, but nice view, right on the beach - just what we were looking for! Location at end of boardwalk makes this a reasonably quiet location away from the noisy end of the boardwalk, but a short walk to all the Rehoboth attractions and services.

Room Tip: Ask for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing