We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money!”
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Please do not choose this hotel! It is awful! They try to fool you with the lobby, which is nice. But once you get to your room, beware! The room hasn't been refurbished since the 1970's. It was dirty (there was sand in the bathroom when we checked in and it was still there when we checked out!) and musty. The towels were a joke....worn and thin and only two provided. The staff was rude and unhelpful! The hallways are dirty, sandy and hot. I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and now I wonder how anyone could have given this hotel a good or even decent review?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    95
    69
    26
    23
See reviews for
116
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a few days at the Henlopen Hotel mid July. Every one of the staff from the front desk to the maid staff were friendly and always willing to help or give dining suggestions. I lost a valuable piece of jewelry and the maintenance staff and the management couldn't have been more helpful. It is rare to find such a great group of people in every department of a hotel. I would return and recommend this hotel to anyone. Some of the rooms still are slated for renovation, but the staff is the best I have ever encountered in my travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiLInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very clean, basic room, the staff was very accommodating regarding early check in, late check out, etc. not luxurious, but nice view, right on the beach - just what we were looking for! Location at end of boardwalk makes this a reasonably quiet location away from the noisy end of the boardwalk, but a short walk to all the Rehoboth attractions and services.

Room Tip: Ask for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had our wedding at the Salero on the top of the hotel recently and we booked a number of rooms for our guests. Our oceanfront suite (for Groom and Bride) was fantastic. The room was comfortable, spacious, had amazing views of the beach and ocean, was very clean, and the bathroom was exceptionally nice for a beachfront hotel. Likewise, my parents had a very large suite that was perfect for hosting the afterparty when the reception ended. Their room was also outstanding. I can't help but think that any negative reviews are just not people with reasonable expectations. Frankly, I didn't expect the rooms to be nearly as well kept and clean as they were given the fact that these rooms are regularly used by families with kids going on and off the beach and boardwalk.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. Anything we needed, they went out of their way to do for us as quickly as possible. I really couldn't have asked for better service, or a better value in a hotel with this location during peak season.

Thanks to Henlopen for a seamless and enjoyable experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUMikeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa-delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel, on the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach, is a really good choice!

Clean rooms, friendly staff, great location.

Free parking, breakfast for the kids, very helpful at the front desk, housekeeping went OUT OF THEIR WAY EVERYDAY TO HELP US!

So glad we choose the Henlopen Hotel! See you nice folks again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozo6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot for a beach hotel. It's on the beach and a lot of the rooms seem to have a partial ocean view. The amenities weren't great--the AC was really loud, which totally blocks any ocean noise. It's a little far from the main attractions on the boardwalk, which was a plus and a minus. The beach is emptier, which is great, but you also have to shlep to get to Funland, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised that our room had a side view in that we booked the cheapest standard room we could find in Rehoboth. Walking right out onto the beach was fantastic. The continental breakfast was very basic and not so great in comparison to our experience at other mid range hotels that are NOT in beach areas. This is not a fancy hotel... Compare rates of others in the area though and it is an excellent deal for the money. How much time do you spend in a hotel room while at the beach?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warytravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing