We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hotel, steps from the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel, steps from the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Henlopen for the Labor Day Weekend. We have stayed here before, and again we had a great trip. Hotel is well maintained and quiet, free breakfast is a plus, and being right on the beach is very convienient.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance if you plan to be here over a national holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    91
    67
    26
    23
See reviews for
111
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach, the staff was pleasant, and accommodations were good. Very nice beach views from the balcony. You're right on the boardwalk- we were able to walk around easily with an infant and small child. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was recently a guest at the Henlopen Hotel at Rehobeth Beach, DE. for my son's wedding. Our room was clean & that's really the only good thing I can say about it. The bathroom was very small with no exhaust fan. The beds were hard as a rock. The patio door was very difficult to open & close. (It took 2 people to open & close) The staff at the front desk was borderline rude. Not friendly at all. The elevators would make horrible noises & take you to every floor except the one you needed to be on. You would also think that for an "up scale" hotel you would at least be provided with internet service at no additional cost. That is not the case at this hotel. However, my son's reception was held in the Salero and that was awesome. The food was outstanding as well as the service. It was like being in a totally different hotel. With the exception of the Salero my overall stay wasn't very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Not a bad place to stay for the price we paid. Overall a very good experience staying here. The hotel does need to be updated. But if we had to will would stay there again. Hotel is at the very end of the boardwalk which was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our family of four stayed recently at the Henlopen Hotel. It is an older building that would benefit from a renovation, but it is clean, functional and in a great location at the beach and at the north end of the boardwalk. We loved the town of Rehobeth. Nice community of shops and plentiful, good restaurants- no long lines to be seated. The beach is very nice but if you came for ocean waves- forget about it. Rehobeth, Bettany and Fenwick Island have all in the past decade participated in a beach sand replenishment program. The result is nice wide beaches of soft sand but no offshore sand bar and therefor no waves, except for during storms. If you want to frolic in the surf, you will have to make the 45 minute drive south to Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you're looking for a clean hotel with no frills but close to the ocean, this is the place. Located at the end of the boardwalk, so it's on the quiet side...which was fine with us. Most rooms have a bit of an ocean view...and you can always spring for a more expensive ocean front Be sure to bring your own beach towels and moisturizer. Nice little frig and microwave in the room. No pool or restaurant but we didn't care. If you don't want to watch tv in the evening, there's usually a wedding ceremony going on by the water...and we watched from our balcony. Complimentary continental breakfast is available, but they serve carbs only. This was the 2nd visit to the Henlopen, and we'd go for #3. Only wish the a/c units were quieter so that we could hear the ocean at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent.........end of boardwalk, oceanfront. We requested a room upgrade, as a previous reviewer suggested. They upgraded us right away. We were so happy with our rooms.....they were a great surprise, and made our trip even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing