We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wedding spot!”
Review of Henlopen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Henlopen Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding spot!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It's your typical beach hotel...but with a twist. The top floor restaurant rocks the most amazing food and catering service for a wedding reception. The staff isn't the most responsive, only drawback. The view is spectacular. If you have to plan an event or reception, try to book the Henlopen. We traveled from San Diego CA to Deleware for a family wedding. We were not disappointed with our room or travel experience. And the price was great too.

Room Tip: not all rooms face ocean. ask for one that does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    95
    69
    26
    23
See reviews for
116
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our stay here (9/28-10/1/11) got off to a rocky start. We found the front desk to be unwelcoming, inhospitable and down right surly. Upon a late arrival on the first night, we discovered that we had mistakenly booked 3 nights on when we had intended to booked 4 nights. Desk clerk was playing card games on the computer and could not be bothered then. Based on the reception, we decided to deal with it in the morning. When we went back to the front desk, yet another surly clerk first told us there were no rooms available on the 4th night (it was quite obvious the hotel was not full) then she said we would be able to stay in the same room on the 4th night but charged us double for the 4th night.

Location was great. Room had an excellent view of the beach but was very much in need of attention (mold on lampshades, sliding door screen would not stay on tracks, door lock was hard to operate, toilet seat needed replaced). They charged for Wi-Fi. Front desk was not helpful with local information nor was there any information in the room. At check in and throughout our 4 night stay it was very obvious they do not like guests who book rooms though internet travel websites.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rawright59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Loved- location on quieter side of Rehoboth Ave- easy walk to everything (no kids with us)
Ocean is right there.

Just outdated- peeling paint- torn screen..and loud wedding party going on late- & our upstairs neighbors decided to loudly go out in their balcony @ 5 a.m.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We completed our third annual stay at the Henlopen in August. See my 2 previous reviews. While experiencing 3 out of their many rooms is far from comprehensive, I can say that each year we had a nice, and most importantly, very clean room. All 3 of the rooms over 3 years were the same. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but at this point I can feel confident in saying this is a perfectly nice hotel. I fail to understand the really poor reviews. The only slight disappointment on this recent trip was that he public shower in the men's room was not working during our stay, which we really appreciate on the day of departure after we check out. They allowed men and woman to use the one in the women's room by locking the door while occupied (which ran out of towels probably due to the higher use). Overall, not a big deal. It was never poor, but I think the customer service we expereinced from the staff this year was the best ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWeststhebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Henlopen in August 2011 and were very pleased. It was the most affordable hotel in the area, and we were pleased with every aspect of our stay. Parking is very conveniently located right outside the front door, and the hotel is located at the quiet end of the boardwalk. Everything was within easy walking distance. The staff were very accomodating when we had a problem with our room, and went out of their way to help us. I believe that all rooms have a balcony, which includes a beach view (even though the cheaper ones are obstructed). We will definitely stay here again! Rehoboth is the perfect place for families, and this hotel is a perfect option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for a beach wedding in September and had a nice time. The room was clean, and housekeeping did a nice job keeping our room stocked with towels. The reception was in salero and the food was very good. The bar was well stocked with liquors I didn't expect but was pleasantly surprised with. Staff was helpful throughout the hotel when we needed them. Bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap and a jumbo bottle of hand sanitizer?! There was a hairdryer and iron in the room too and we were only steps from the beach. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We originally booked room with side view of ocean-all that was available so they said. Bathroom was tiny. Second day there we asked for upgrade to ocean front. The front desk was very nice and gave us the upgrade. Room much bigger and had flat screen tv balconey over boardwalk. Huge bathroom. Beautiful view of ocean. Saw dolphins everyday. Free breakfast consisted of poptarts, bagels & danish. OJ & apple juice in cans and coffee or tea. Downfall was that they use regular keys. No chains were attatched so had to worry about losing key. Parking garage was different-had to park between cement poles-very narrow. Overall had great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
The Breakers Hotel & Suites
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henlopen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henlopen Hotel

Property: Henlopen Hotel
Address: 511 N Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2162
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Henlopen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Henlopen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henlopen Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing