We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super clean”
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery Village, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and super clean”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have stayed at the Oceanus multiple times. The rooms are always super clean. They get you in the room early if it's available. It's right off Rehoboth Ave, the main shopping street and a short walk to the beach. Park your car in their lot and you never have to move it. The pool is an added bonus. I recommend staying on the third (top) floor because you can hear people walking around above you otherwise. The beds are the only thing I would improve. Too soft for my taste. They could use an upgrade. All the staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Highly recommend this motel and always tell me friends to stay. Rooms also have refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cajhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    129
    19
    2
    12
See reviews for
240
160
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Oceanus was a welcome weedend treat. Nice, clean, excellent property and location. Have been at Oceanus in the past, a few years ago, and it is still a great location. Staff is friendly and accomdating. Will be returning for an extended weekend w/ family in later July.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The main reason we have gone back for an annual beach trip to Rehoboth and stayed at Oceanus for 2 straight years now is the location - right off Rehoboth Avenue in the middle of town. Other good attributes are the affordability relative to the location, pool, cleanliness, and free parking that is offered with the prices of the room. One thing I am not crazy about is the beds - they seem to sink a bit which is probably standard for a motel but they still are not terrible. Overall, great place for a long weekend stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been visiting Rehoboth and staying at the Oceanus for 20 years and cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Great location, great customer service, and clean cared for rooms! The pool is always a welcome treat after a day at the beach, and the rooms while basic are exceptionally maintained. The hotel is on 2nd St, TWO blocks to the beach, and surrounded by good restaurants, and shopping. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgr1968NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Oceanus at the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. It's a classic beach motel: 3 floors, L shaped, around a teeny weeny pool. It's also a block off of the main strip in Rehobeth and about a 10-minute walk to the beach. The rooms were VERY clean and updated.

Although our room was next to the stairwell, we didn't hear other people trouncing up and down. You get one parking pass per rooms which saves a lot of headaches.

It's not cheap considering it's a motel so if it's luxury you want, don't stay here. But, if you want a simple, clean motel near the beach and the main drag -- I think you could do a lot worse than Oceanus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kern22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

As a motel you couldn't ask for more. It was nice. It was clean. It was convenient. Only a couple of blocks down to the boardwalk and beach. You have your choice of walking down the main drag with all the shops and restaurants or by walking down through a quiet residential street; stroller and walking friendly. It was our first trip to the beach with our 2 year old. We didn't opt for paying extra for the crib as he just slept in the bed with my wife. We had a second floor room overlooking the pool; it was nice to have two chairs outside the door to sit on the balcony and relax. Parking lot seems a little limited but we didn't have a problem. We would have no problem going back or recommending Oceanus to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theSteelerfan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Do not stay here. On my first night I found a bug in the bed under the top sheet. I called the office and the very young man offered to remove the bug. I asked him to make sure management was told. In the morning I spoke with the condescending and rude woman in the office. She said she would speak with the head housekeeper. On the second night the bug was still there. I used the other bed but this place was skivvy. I went across the street to the other hotel with the same owners. I explained being lied to over the phone regarding the distance to the beach, the smoking policy, the availability of coffee, and also the bug. Do you think I would receive a call. NO! I am sure they spoke to the awful woman at the desk as her attitude worsened. The staff is rude and unable to provide satisfaction. They are obsessed with their rules which make it an unwelcoming place to stay. This motel is NOT 2 blocks from the beach but 1/4 mile as clocked in a car. It is a long, long walk with children and chairs, etc.

Stay somewhere else. There are numerous more updated and closer motels for the same price

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,003 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Property: Oceanus Motel
Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing