We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation, great location, and kind staff”
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is THE ONLY place we would stay in Rehoboth now that we have gone to the town over 13 years or so. This motel is friendly, convenient ( about 2 blocks from boardwalk, right around the corner from the bike shop we use for rentals) and the staff is superb! The cleaning ladies are wonderful! Things are well tended. The pool is beautiful. A lovely spot for relaxing, sitting out and writing cards or reading. The staff is up to date on things around town. We always learn new things from them.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Oceanus.
And we just learned some relatives we told about The Oceanus stayed here a few years ago, and they liked it so much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paxtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We greatly appreciate you writing this amazing review of our property. Reading this review brought a huge smile to my face. Everyone staff member from our housekeepers to our front desk staff, work around the clock to ensure each & every guest has an amazing stay with us. The pool area is the perfect way to relax on a warm sunny day. We love to keep our guests informed on all that the town has to offered & all of its newest additions. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 613 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My friends and I have stayed at the Oceanus Motel for many years and always have a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are immaculate, the pool is refreshing, and the location is very convenient to the beach, the restaurants, and the shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMM1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property & thank you for your many years of loyalty to The Oceanus Motel. I am glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I am incredibly proud of the staff that we have at The Oceanus, each one goes out of their way to ensure that our guests have an amazing stay with us. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus Motel !

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room, last minute reservations. Bed was ok, but I'm sure they get used a lot, pool looked awesome (didn't make it in) shower was nice, coffee in the office, wish it was in the room, but I can't complain

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laird01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & that you found our location to be very convenient. Unfortunately we do not offer coffee in the rooms, but as you said we do offer a gourmet coffee in our office every morning. Next time you stay with us be sure to take a dip in the pool, it is so refreshing on a hot summer day. We look forward to you returning to stay with us. Best wishes from your friends at The Oceanus Motel.

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stay at the Oceanus annually with friends and we find it always to be clean, reliable rates, and friendly staff. The location in Rehoboth is perfect... you never need to drive anywhere! The rooms are gigantic, but for 2-3 people, it's comfortable and is spacious enough to spread out luggage. We appreciate the in-room fridge and microwave too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review! I want to personally thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to our property, it means a lot to my staff and I. Our location is perfect for anyone staying with us, just a short walk to everything in town. We pride ourselves on offering clean rooms with affordable rates throughout the entire season. Everyone here at The Oceanus looks forward to you returning to stay with us soon, best wishes!

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The motel has been renovated recently and the rooms are very clean. They do not have a musty smell like so many motels have. There is a small pool, which ideal to cool down after a long day on the beach.
Our room was in a corner by the stairs, so it was very dark and gloomy (but clean and modern). It was not a problem because we never stayed in the bedroom other than to sleep, but you may want to make sure, when you book, that you do not have a dark, "no view", corner room if this could be a problem for you.
It's nice because you park your car and just leave it there during your stay, since you can walk to the boardwalk and beach, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our clean and conveniently located rooms. Like you said we are located right in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, just a short walk to all the attractions in town. The room in which you stayed was one of our corner rooms that overlooks the hallway. We never rent those rooms out unless we have thoroughly explained the room's location & view to the guest, like we did when you booked the room. It same interior as every other room on the property, with the same layout & amenities. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from everyone at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have been a guest at this hotel many times over the last 20 years and have always had excellent service. Will recommend this motel to everyone. It is a second home to me and the staff treats you life family.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to The Oceanus, we always look forward to you coming to stay with us each year! You are definitely apart of The Oceanus Family & it brings a smile to all our faces that you consider our motel to be a second home for you! Although most of the staff lives in the area, we consider The Oceanus to be our second home as well.. We all look forward to your next stay with us, but until then we wish you the very best!

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got home from spending a quick 3 day Memorial Day Weekend in Rehoboth Beach. My wife and I wanted someplace inexpensive, clean, and not too far from the beach. Of course we checked TA and found the Oceanus.
One of the reviews described this place as a gem, and it truly is a gem. From the super friendly office staff, to the housekeepers who greeted me each day with a cheery hello and a smile, the place is top notch. Now don't expect a huge room, and the bathroom is a little small, but everything is spotless and isn't that really the most important thing. Yes, the place is located on a main street but I heard no traffic noise at all up on the third floor facing the pool area.
The motel is a 15 second walk from a great margarita/tequila bar called Cabo's, and a leisurely 10 minute walk from the boardwalk. The parking is free and there are enough spaces that everybody gets a spot.
I am a person who appreciates good value and I will no longer stay at any lodging in the Rehoboth area other than the Oceanus.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor and had a decent view right down Wilmington Avenue almost to the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our property & thank you for all your wonderful remarks. It is always wonderful to hear how much our staff makes our guests stay memorable. We have always prided ourselves on being the best value motel in Rehoboth Beach and we have done so by having great service, affordable rates, and clean rooms. The staff at The Oceanus truly goes out of their way to make sure every guest is having a great stay with us. We are one big family here at The Oceanus & we are glad to welcome you into it. We look forward to your future stays with us. Best wishes from all of your new friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
625 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#12 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $149 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing