We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable, clean and great location!”
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reliable, clean and great location!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stay at the Oceanus annually with friends and we find it always to be clean, reliable rates, and friendly staff. The location in Rehoboth is perfect... you never need to drive anywhere! The rooms are gigantic, but for 2-3 people, it's comfortable and is spacious enough to spread out luggage. We appreciate the in-room fridge and microwave too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this review! I want to personally thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to our property, it means a lot to my staff and I. Our location is perfect for anyone staying with us, just a short walk to everything in town. We pride ourselves on offering clean rooms with affordable rates throughout the entire season. Everyone here at The Oceanus looks forward to you returning to stay with us soon, best wishes!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    129
    19
    2
    12
See reviews for
245
161
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The motel has been renovated recently and the rooms are very clean. They do not have a musty smell like so many motels have. There is a small pool, which ideal to cool down after a long day on the beach.
Our room was in a corner by the stairs, so it was very dark and gloomy (but clean and modern). It was not a problem because we never stayed in the bedroom other than to sleep, but you may want to make sure, when you book, that you do not have a dark, "no view", corner room if this could be a problem for you.
It's nice because you park your car and just leave it there during your stay, since you can walk to the boardwalk and beach, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & enjoyed our clean and conveniently located rooms. Like you said we are located right in the heart of Rehoboth Beach, just a short walk to all the attractions in town. The room in which you stayed was one of our corner rooms that overlooks the hallway. We never rent those rooms out unless we have thoroughly explained the room's location & view to the guest, like we did when you booked the room. It same interior as every other room on the property, with the same layout & amenities. We look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from everyone at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have been a guest at this hotel many times over the last 20 years and have always had excellent service. Will recommend this motel to everyone. It is a second home to me and the staff treats you life family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for your many years of devoted loyalty to The Oceanus, we always look forward to you coming to stay with us each year! You are definitely apart of The Oceanus Family & it brings a smile to all our faces that you consider our motel to be a second home for you! Although most of the staff lives in the area, we consider The Oceanus to be our second home as well.. We all look forward to your next stay with us, but until then we wish you the very best!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster,PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got home from spending a quick 3 day Memorial Day Weekend in Rehoboth Beach. My wife and I wanted someplace inexpensive, clean, and not too far from the beach. Of course we checked TA and found the Oceanus.
One of the reviews described this place as a gem, and it truly is a gem. From the super friendly office staff, to the housekeepers who greeted me each day with a cheery hello and a smile, the place is top notch. Now don't expect a huge room, and the bathroom is a little small, but everything is spotless and isn't that really the most important thing. Yes, the place is located on a main street but I heard no traffic noise at all up on the third floor facing the pool area.
The motel is a 15 second walk from a great margarita/tequila bar called Cabo's, and a leisurely 10 minute walk from the boardwalk. The parking is free and there are enough spaces that everybody gets a spot.
I am a person who appreciates good value and I will no longer stay at any lodging in the Rehoboth area other than the Oceanus.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor and had a decent view right down Wilmington Avenue almost to the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our property & thank you for all your wonderful remarks. It is always wonderful to hear how much our staff makes our guests stay memorable. We have always prided ourselves on being the best value motel in Rehoboth Beach and we have done so by having great service, affordable rates, and clean rooms. The staff at The Oceanus truly goes out of their way to make sure every guest is having a great stay with us. We are one big family here at The Oceanus & we are glad to welcome you into it. We look forward to your future stays with us. Best wishes from all of your new friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As always, a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were perfectly appointed with everything you could need. Every morning there is fresh coffee in the office! The pool is well lit with plenty of lounge chairs. A must stay if you going to Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us & that you were able to take advantage of all that the town has to offer. We pride ourselves on making sure that our property is clean, affordable, & relaxing. Our staff works round the clock to make sure that every guests stay is amazing. We hope to see you again soon, best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here for about 5 years. We typically take advantage of the great Spring or Fall weekend specials. Two blocks from the beach, great staff, good value, great location. Can't beat it in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I want to personally thank you for your many years of loyal service to our property. At The Oceanus we do our best to ensure that every guest has an amazing stay with us. From our clean rooms to our wonderful location, The Oceanus is the perfect getaway for anyone. We all look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future. Best wishes from all of your friends at The Oceanus!

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Oceanus is a wonderful gem in Rehoboth. We stayed there recently and enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and location of this family friendly motel.

It is owned by the same people who own The Bellmoor (we stayed there for the past 8 years) and this is just a nice, remarkably clean motel with great staff.

It is within walking distance to great restaurants and beach. Rooms and motel have all been updated and very, very nice.

Thank you Ellen, Shirley and Carol ... we enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

Room Tip: This is a great motel for families ... reasonable ... beautiful pool and great location to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanusMotel, General Manager at Oceanus Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our property is most certainly a family friendly motel with a family atmosphere. Many of our guests have been staying with us for many years & are on a first name basis with our staff as you have become. Our location is perfect for anyone staying in Rehoboth, being just a short walk to all of the towns attractions, restaurants, & most importantly the beach! We are looking forward to seeing you for many more visits in the future. Best wishes from all of us at The Oceanus.

J.B. Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Property: Oceanus Motel
Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing