We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This motel is a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanus Motel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This motel is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wasn't sure that I could pull off a last minute quick beach retreat for myself, my daughter and her friends. I searched high and low and read more reviews than I wanted to. I highly recommend this little gem of a motel. Super clean and modern. Centrally located and I never had to move my car for three days, which means I never had to worry about getting back to a parking meter. Two long blocks to the beach made it easy access. I knew this was going to be a pleasant stay from the check in. Management noticed that I had three teenage girls and they immediately called housekeeping to stock more towels in the room before I even was handed the key. Motels can sometimes be scary, rundown, and not located in the best places, but I can honestly say I had no complaints about this motel. The refrigerator/microwave made it convenient for snacks and drinks. Beds were comfy and clean. Thanks for a great stay and we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    124
    19
    2
    12
See reviews for
219
147
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Have been coming to this motel on occasion for 30 years. It has great virtues. It is not too far from the beach ( 2 long blocks) and near to restaurants and shops since it is only a half block off the main drag. The down side is that it can be noisy late night not so much from the people in the motel but when you are close to the street you hear all the late night yells from those in the street as well as some of the music. It is a good value relative to other choices in downtown Rehobeth Beach. The staff was very attentive and competent. Rooms are clean and comfortable but not fancy. Nice to be in a place where you can park your car and walk to everything.

Room Tip: ask to be far from the street, and perhaps high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMS17000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just returned from a 2-night stay and found the newly renovated property quite pleasant. I had made reservations for my husband and myself, and for another family who was traveling with us as well. We had to cancel our original plans due to unforeseen circumstances, and I was grateful and relieved that they were very accommodating in letting us re-book for a later date with no penalty (thank you, Ellen). Our rooms were clean and the bed/pillows were comfy. The room included a mini-fridge and microwave. The ice machine was nearby. There's a nice pool just steps away, and the beach is a walkable two blocks. The motel is just a block from Rehoboth Ave. and it's a straight shot down Second St. to get to Dewey or the highway to Ocean City. We enjoyed our stay and will use this location again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is my second review of the motel as I stayed here last year and said I'd come back. Spent three nights this time and what a great value. We had a room on the second floor, double beds. All the rooms face the pool. The room was very clean, and it's great to have the flat screen tv, microwave, and fridge. Free parking on site. The location is perfect as you're only two blocks from the beach and boardwalk and about 1/2 block in off the main street. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Not a negative thing to say about staying here. Look forward to staying again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

During the recent storms and power outages in the DC area, we did the only logical thing which was to take an impromptu trip to the beach while things sorted themselves out at home. Hotel space was limited as many had the same idea and we booked at the Oceanus as it was open, had a pool and wasn't too far from the beach. Turns out we made a good choice. This hotel is no-frills, but it is clean, the staff was friendly, professional and accomodating. The pool is clean and well cared for. Parking was adequate and they are serious about guests only, so there is a spot open for you if you are staying there. The beach is about a ten minute walk and you are very close to the Rehoboth main avenue with it's restuarants and shops. For a beach motel, we were pleasantly suprised and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The top rooms give you more of a view and remove you a bit from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPDCFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

A perfect location for a weekend escape. We have returned several times and were never disappointed. The accommodations have always been very clean - this time the rooms were recently renovated! Friendly faces at check-in and our room was ready early. A great place to park and walk to town, restaurants and beach. Ample parking. We look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and 1 year old daughter stayed here for two nights in June. We checked in late at night and the staff was very friendly. We were directed to our room, which was very clean. There are a lot of really great restaurants within walking distance. The beach is a bit of a walk away, but not too bad. Overall, I would stay here again for a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Motel

Property: Oceanus Motel
Address: 6 2nd St, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanus Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanus Motel Rehoboth Beach
Oceanus Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing