We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have gone to Boardwalk Plaza every year to celebrate our anniversary each February. They have the friendliest and welcoming staff of any hotel we have ever stayed at. The rooms are very spacious, luxurious and very clean. They truly make every effort to make your stay very relaxing and wonderful. The restaurant has the best food in the area and we highly reccomend doing the afternoon tea. We always have a very memorable stay with them!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms offer an added wonderful and relaxing touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newarkboi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    156
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
231
404
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for the Polar Bear Plunge:

The staff were extremely nice and went out of their way to make sure my family and I were 100% happy. Everything was extremely clean and up kept. We went during the winter and being able to get into a 94 degree pool outdoor/indoor during winter was amazing. The hot tub on the roof was very nice as well. We had breakfast twice and dinner once there and it was extremely good. Over all amazing. Already booked 2 rooms for next year.

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor if you want to be able to use the hot tub. (only if you don't have kids) So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the "amazing" review! We are happy to have hosted your family and were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you plan on coming to see us again. Take care until we greet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

You've made our 25th Wedding Anniversary very special and wonderful! Thank You very much for the special surprise! We stay at least twice a year at the Boardwalk plazza. For our Birthday,Wedding Anniversary and the jazz festival. It's always a great treat!
The hotel staff are friendly and eager to help with anything you want or need. All of our meals wer'e excellent. Our ocean front concierge level suite was very clean and relaxing! Our room service breakfast was awesome and arrived right on time. Can't wait to return! Great winter getaway

We visited 2nd floor media center to see concierge Tom Gross. He is an asset to your hotel. He was very helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppmc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover DE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Couldn't ask for a better one-night weekend winter getaway. The hotel staff was excellent. The room was comfortable. Most shops and restaurants are still open (in January). The hotel restaurant was an excellent choice for a nice breakfast before leaving. Great job!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are well worth the price. The morning view, especially, is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Always cautious of smaller independent hotels I booked for a weekend get away with my sister. From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly, courteous, and seemed anxious to please. The bellboy that carried our bags to our room offered to get ice, got us more coffee, and never seemed put out. The room was immaculate ( and I check every crevice), we got an ocean view and we had a perfect view of the ocean don't know that oceanfront wouldn't have been any better. A bitterly cold weekend we decided to stay in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the pub where the bartender kept a friendly banter and the food was superb!!! I've stayed at five diamond hotels that were no better. When we left the manager was on his knees trying to find us discount coupons for the outlets we were headed too, and extremely apologetic that they were out. I not only recommend this hotel full heartily, I will indeed go back. Forget all I posted, don't go, stay away, don't want to not be able to reserve a room when I want!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view or Ocean Front you must see the Ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've stayed here every winter for the last five years or so. I must say that as usual the hotel accommodations were wonderful. I love the Victorian decor, the rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, the location is great, and the staff is just delightful. They are very accommodating; when we had to leave a day early because of a coming snow storm, there was no problem and we were not charged for the room. We will definitely stay there again. We went to the Pub on Saturday night and that was fine, too, although I do wish they would stay open later than 10 p.m. It would seem that staying open to 11 p.m. on a weekend night would be something their patrons would like.

The only problem I've ever had at the hotel was in the restaurant. In my review last year, I complained about the restaurant's service and we had a problem this year, too. My travel companion ordered a crab omelet for breakfast. When it arrived it was clear that there was no crab meat in it. When we complained to the waitress she said that the crab meat was cooked into the egg but it was very evident that there was no crab meat in it. They did bring some cooked crab meat but still, they should be able to get an order right, especially for breakfast when they weren't that busy.

Room Tip: If traveling with several friends or family members consider the ocean front or view suites with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued patronage, and for your candid review. Although we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, we were very sorry to hear that we let you down in the restaurant on more than one occasion. Please know that we take every guest comment to heart and take action based on your experiences. Please accept our apologies for where we fell short. We look forward to welcoming you back to an improved experience in Victoria's and the Boardwalk Plaza, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I usually try to stay here at least once every year during the winter season. I have always loved the hotel, restaurant, and the staff. However, this year the hotel decided to do away with the their very best Sunday brunch buffet and moved to the ordinary a la carte menu. While the food is good, it is no comparison to the variety of the food offered during the brunch buffet. Also gone is the more leisure atmosphere offered in the buffet setting. The Sunday brunch buffet was another special feature of this hotel. I was very disappointed to see it move to being no different than what other hotels offer. I'm hoping this is just an experimental period for the hotel and they will bring back the gem that made the hotel special.

Room Tip: The ocean view suite with Jacuzzi is my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and for your comments regarding our new a la carte Sunday Brunch. Over the course of three years, we thoughtfully considered the move to a la carte Sunday brunch, as we had many comments about the price and guests commenting that they did not want that much food. This year we decided to follow the industry trend and make the change, offering entrees at different price points and doing away with set seating times so guests would not have to wait. We truly appreciate your opinion as we evaluate the pros and cons moving forward into the future!

P.S. We do still offer the full, extended buffet for holidays such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and Mother's Day and hope you will come visit us then to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing