We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I just came back from a two night stay at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel. I was there because of running the marathon in town that weekend, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. It is unusual to get such interested staff. The waitress in the restaurant even offered to mail me the local newspaper article about the marathon I had just run! The food was superb in the restaurant, which has a fantastic piano player in the evening. The beds are extremely comfortable and our room and the lobby was lovingly decorated in a tasteful Victorian theme. This is one of the best hotel experiences I have had in quite some time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeoct22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the 5-star review! We sincerely appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay for the Rehoboth Beach marathon. Next time we will try to provide sunshine, as well! Hope you have a happy holiday season and that we see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 919 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed over for the marathon this past weekend- This hotel is well run with a great staff. Everyone seemed so extra nice and welcoming. We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was top notch, service perfect- not to mention there is a bell at you table if you need something - never needed to use it.

Room Tip: Ocean front suite if available is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during the Rehoboth Beach Marathon! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your visits to Victoria's. We appreciate your patronage and your review, and hope to see you again, soon! We wish you a warm and wonderful holiday season and new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We recently spent our 2nd Thanksgiving there--a great experience. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. We ate all of our meals in the main restaurant; the choices, including breakfast, were wide and everything was delicious. Best of all was the Thanksgiving buffet, something we usually avoid because who wants to eat steam-table food on Thanksgiving, right? Well, this was better than most home-made spreads. Beautifully cooked food with incredible choices was continuously replenished. The serving tables were kept neat, clean & appetizing. The seating was well-timed so that no one ever had to stand in a long line. This hotel's staff is exceptional: front desk personnel, porters, waiters, housekeepers--they're unfailingly cheerful, helpful, polite, and competent. The concierge, Tom Gross, is simply outstanding. Is there anything Tom wouldn't do for a hotel guest?!!!!!! A lovely woman even opened the gift shop for me so I could do some Christmas shopping on Thanksgiving. Our suite was charming and comfortable. After 3 stays here--one in the summer--we can honestly say this is a first-class hotel.

Room Tip: The 4th floor concierge level is extremely nice. We've always reserved an ocean-front room. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeEvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing the Thanksgiving holiday with us. The culinary team works very hard on our holiday buffets, and were happy to hear how pleased you were with their efforts! One of the best compliments we can receive is when our guests entrust us with special holidays and meals that are traditionally spent at home. We are honored that you choose the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and happy to provide you with a home-away-from-home. Please come see us again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel. The location was perfect--on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean. We stayed last night in a king room, with a balcony and gorgeous ocean view. The room had all the usual amenities, but all high-end (Keurig coffee brewer, lotions, shampoos, terry robes, fully-stocked minbar, step-up bed, and umbrellas). The Victorian decor was beautifully done throughout the hotel. Being here in December, we could marvel over all of the holiday decorations. Room service was available and there was a classic restaurant overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, we forgot our bathing suits, because the hot tub looked very inviting, even on a chilly Dec. evening.
The staff was so friendly and helpful, they felt like good friends. We will definitely be returning to Boardwalk Plaza and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The ocean front suites are wonderful, but the king or two queen ocean view rooms maybe a better valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a wonderful Hotel and staff!!!!! All of our expectations were exceeded. The room was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. As were all common areas. The Front desk staff; Tom , Lorraine, Pamela, took care of our every need!!!!!

Can't wait to return.......

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fbj36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for the 5-star review! We do aim to exceed our guests' expectations, and are smiling to hear that we succeeded. Tom, Lorraine and Pamela appreciate your comments, as well. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Beautiful views, quaint Victorian decor, well maintained property. The decor may be over the top for some. Very responsive staff moved us to a new room when they discovered that some construction would be near our room. The tub in the suite? Not quite sure about that one...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JanetMP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lovely Victorian style hotel right on the Rehobeth boardwalk. Very convenient location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is not what you would typically expect at the beach. From the unique decor in the lobby (complete with parrot cages and an awesome antique fireplace) to the dining room to the guest rooms, it is like taking a step back in time to the Victorian era. We stayed in several different rooms, an ocean front jacuzzi room, a standard room and a jacuzzi suite. All three were very modern with extremely comfortable beds and yet the furnishings had an antique feel. The beds are high and include a step stool for easy access if needed. The fourth floor is adults only and is accessible by a specially programmed room key. We visited during a cold and blustery period in November. My husband was in the Rehobeth area on business. It would have been the perfect time for a quiet weekend getaway. I am sure in the summer when the hotel is full, it is not so quiet. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Free underground parking is a plus. We would love to come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Couples might prefer the adults only fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIrginiaGirl597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rehoboth
Hotel Rehoboth
#6 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $98 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing