We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a first class operation in all respects: professional staff, outstanding facilities and friendly atmosphere. The hotel is located right on the boardwalk, just three blocks from the main street in Rehoboth. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar and there are many other places to eat close by. They have a couple of parrots in the lobby that are very entertaining and add to the ambiance. We would definitely go there again and would recommend to friends. We were there in March when rates are low, I imagine it is pricy in the summertime.

Room Tip: Get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Moon_77766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    131
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
189
318
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted a quiet romantic place to recharge our batteries. The King Suite fit the bill. It has a jacuzzi tub and a separate sitting room. This allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.' Our room was over a side street and towards the back, yet we still had a decent view of the ocean from the balcony. The best view though is watching the sun rise through the big windows of Victoria's restaurant downstairs... with a pot of coffee. The food here is wonderful, especially the Sunday brunch, though I also recommend the Henlopen City Oyster Bar, and in nearby Lewes the Buttery and Touch of Italy. We were in walking distance of Clear Space Theater and caught a play (be sure to buy tickets ahead). After hiking the cape we swam in the heated pool, and turned all the jets full blast. Very relaxing. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The the separate sitting room allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was expensive but the view was amazing. Food from room service was good. Very old fashion feel with modern amenities and the rooftop hot tub was very cool. I can only imagine prices during the summer sky rocket. The in room entertainment was very outdated.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AES2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five of us just spent a long weekend at the hotel and we loved it! We've been there the past 4 years and as always we had a great, clean, comfortable ocean view room. The hotel service was excellent and the staff very very nice to deal with. We had dinner Saturday night in the pub area and the guy serving bar and waiting on us was great to deal with as well. However, we had dinner in Victoria's Restaurant on Sunday night (Monday was a holiday) and our service was terrible. We ordered off the Prix Fixe menu so it wasn't like we were ordering anything out of the ordinary. It took forever for our entrees to arrive and when they did one was the wrong entree and two were lukewarm (they had definitely been sitting a while). When we complained we were told that the restaurant was busy and that's that. We complained to the hostess and she said "we're humans not machines" and shrugged her shoulders. She and the waiter were clearly unconcerned about us. When we ordered our dessert we told the waiter that we were in a hurry because we had to leave soon. It still took a long time for our dessert to arrive. It was disappointing to be treated that way in a nice place like that. We had reservations for tea the following day but the dinner service was so poor that we cancelled the reservations. Overall, we would definitely stay there again but I don't think we would eat in the restaurant again.

Room Tip: Book early and get an ocean view room. The suites are lovely with a great sitting area apart from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1890girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. The decor is beautiful, and the Christmas decorations were amazing. The staff was very competent and perhaps could have been a little warmer but they attended to our needs. We had a king oceanfront room that was lovely, but I was not clear on why there was only one chair at the table. Also there was only one nightstand, so one of us had to do without. The room was very quiet and although we had neighbors, they could not be heard. A microwave would have been nice, and the fridge had a lock on it. Having said all that, it was clean, spacious, and the pool/hot tub combination was like none I have experienced. They had jets that move like shiatsu. It was so clean and the setting was lovely as well. The fitness room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again if only they didn't have tropical birds as pets. I have a real problem with wildlife in captivity, and although it could be argued that one of the birds is free to roam outside the cage I still think birds belong in the wild.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineTurquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past. This time we paid premium prices for the New Year party. Will never pay for food again. We have food allergies and our only recourse was to skip the meal we had paid for. When we complained upon check-out we were told we should have ordered and paid for room service.

Room Tip: Heat does not work properly. Restaurant not worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJABaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I visit Rehoboth every summer, staying at motels out on the highway, but we last visited during the off season in 2003, when we stayed at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel. This year, we decided our Christmas gift to each other would be a stay at a great hotel, so we traveled back to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, where, after nine years, we were greeted as repeat guests. Dave at the front desk was particulary helpful, although the entire staff was excellent.

The hotel is Victorian-themed, which may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it's beautiful at Christmas. We booked a room on the Concierge Level (fourth floor) which includes amenities such as turndown service, fluffy bathrobes in the closet, and a later check-out than the rest of the hotel. We had an ocean view suite near the front of the hotel, so we had a nice view of the ocean. The suite is laid out with the bedroom as the first room you walk into, followed by a small hall with a huge sink/counter on one side and the bathroom on the other, and then the sitting room, with a sliding glass door to the balcony. The room was very clean and cozy, and the beds were super comfortable.

We had Christmas dinner in the hotel's restaurant, Victoria's, which does a great buffet. I particularly enjoyed the sweet potatoes glazed with brown sugar and bourbon, and my husband loved the assortment of seafood.

If we can get the time off from work next year, we will definitely be going back. It was a wonderful way to spend Christmas, and we really appreciate all the staff who made our two days there so special.

Room Tip: It's very quiet on the concierge level, which is adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing