We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit. We compliment the entire staff for their hospitality, courtesy and friendliness. We were truly pampered. Also noteworthy was the sumptuous and delicious Thanksgiving buffet. We will be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ocean view is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    130
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
188
317
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Wonderful location,delightful room, wi-fi, two TV's, thick towels, oversize wash cloths, very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Parrots in the lobby are fun. Restaurant has fabulous meals. Lots of return guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for one night. We had an oceanfront suite, with a beautiful view of the Atlantic. Really nice, clean room. The bed was firm and comfortable. Staff was extremely nice, and were always asking if they could help. We would absolutely return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We have wanted to stay at this oceanfront Victorian hotel for years and finally did. In season rates ( summer) are about $400/night, which is spendy for a 4 story hotel that is showing its age. The location is its greatest asset, right on the boardwalk on a broad stretch of beach. You can walk to restaurants, bars, shops and amusements in town, all within a few blocks. We were able to have breakfast outdoors on the beach level, which was a delightful and treat on a unseasonably warm November day.

The decor throughout the property is heavy-handed Victorian. Our room, while having ocean views and the welcome sounds/rhythm of ocean waves to sleep by, was crowded with big furniture (and too much of it) ... So much so that you have to turn sideways at the foot of the bed to cross the room. The bed was high off the floor, and the ceiling was low, making the bed uncomfortable to get on or off, and adding to an overall closed or tight feeling in the room. The bathroom, too, was very small.

We enjoyed the location but not the room. For future stays, we'll go back to our favorite place in Rehoboth Beach, the Bellmoor.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lotsasalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The best thing about the Boardwalk Plaza is its location fronting right on the boardwalk and a short hop from the restaurants and shopping of the main drag (Rehoboth Ave.). The Boardwalk Plaza has an excellent restaurant, Victorias, fronting the beach. Twice in November the morning was warm enough to take breakfast at Victorias outdoors, essentially on the boardwalk, with excellent people watching and views of the beach, once including dolphins passing by. The hotel has taken its Victorian theme fairly far with charming results in the lobby and the restaurant. Among idiosyncratic features, several parrots are permanently housed in the lobby and the parrots can frequently be found loose on the shoulder or hand of the staff working behind the desk -- a bit disconcerting depending upon how one feels about close contact with animals. Friday and Saturday nights, at least in November, the hotel has hot spiced apple cider and cookies in the lobby among the Victorian furniture and decorations -- a lot of fun. The staff is friendly, helpful, and frequently an older employee of long standing. If you ask, you can have your choice of newspaper outside your door each morning. The rooms are attractive, clean, well maintained, but a little cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
415 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and wished it could have been longer. We had an ocean front room on the concierge floor. It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Everything was provided for our comfort. Towels were fluffy and bed was comfortable. Nice snacks in the bar and very reasonable. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was here for a conference overnight.
The hotel decor is like taking a trip back in time. The woodwork, antiques, even the parrots in the lobby...picture perfect!
It is very clean...Service was excellent and every one we came in contact with was pleasant and helpful.
Had an ocean front room. It was very nice. Had a small sitting room with desk, TV and sofa that opened onto a balcony that faced the ocean. It was the perfect place to see the sunrise over the ocean. And the plus was having a perfect autumn day to be on the beach.
We had 2 queen size beds that were very comfortable and lots of pillows.
They provide you with a Kuerig coffee pot and real mugs, not styrofoam cups.
Small touches in the rooms make a difference. Even the towels were soft, absorbent and they were colored green...not the basic white.
We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there and all the food was very good.
The summer prices are obviously very high, but being there after the high season, rates are reasonable.
It was so nice, we will be returning in December for a little weekend rertreat, and Christmas shopping at the outlets...
They are open all year round...

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean front room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#19 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing