We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant, Conceited, unwelcoming, Hypocrite, etc.,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Arrogant, Conceited, unwelcoming, Hypocrite, etc.,”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited Boardwalk Plaza last year. We enjoyed our stay very much, so we decided to visit again this year. We travel a lot during the year and know what is a good hotel services. I tried for more than six weeks to reserve two ocean front rooms and was not successful. When I call, the reservation desk, they will ask how many in my party. Once I tell them, they say there are no rooms available. So I decided to contact a travel agency. Although I just called the hotel at noon on the same day I contacted the travel agency and the reservation operator indicated there were fully booked for those dates. The travel agency was able to get us two rooms at 2 pm on the same day I called at noon (go figure). I also learned that the hotel reserved ocean front room to a family who walked in on the same day for just one night. In any event, we arrived early than the check in time. My impression of the front desk staff were very stiff, abrupt, rude, unwelcoming...etc., They indicated both of our rooms were not ready and they guarantee check in @ 3. At around 11:30 am, I asked what was the room #'s? The front desk staff said, we don't know yet. Than I ordered lunch from the restaurant and said to the server that I don't know my room #. The server said no problem, just print your name and sign and will be added to your bill. I went back @ 1:30 to check if at least one room is ready. A staff member said one is ready. The other immediately responded no non of your rooms are ready. So I said than you and waited in the spa area until 2:30 pm the bell person came to let me know my rooms were ready.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms/suite are spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EvelynWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    156
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
231
404
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Boardwalk Plaza is a lovely 40s-style hotel with ocean front rooms, some of which are suites. There is a 4th floor Concierge level for adults only. A small pub, a Victorian restaurant with some outdoor seating, a pool/hot tub with rules for adults only after 8pm. Staff is attentive, eager to please and available. It's wonderful to wake to the sounds of the ocean directly under the balcony and to be pampered. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown restaurants, pubs and shopping.

Room Tip: If money is not a problem ($250.) ask for the suite I mentioned above for adults. There is a differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a nice hotel, but not for a family. The decor is very aclectic, and different. Although, it is steps away from the beach and on the boardwalk. Great Location. The rooms were very clean, and fresh. 2nd Nicest hotel in Rehoboth. Just, this is not the sort of place for a family on a budget. We stayed in a Standard Room (overpriced if I may add). Our room was desent, but not worth the money. The victorian feel is not suitable for children, and with a budget, the Standard room is what you get. And, let me tell you, it was below standard. For 300 hundred dollars per night, we could have gotten a small suite at the Atlantic Sands hotel, gotten a nicer room and saved money. If you stay here, you have to have money for a suite, thats the only way to do it. Anyway, the service is great, kind staff members ready to help you. This is a nice hotel, but mainly for a couple, not a family.

Room Tip: Dont do Standard Rooms, only do suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here one weekend in April 2012 with my wife. Parking was very convenient, much more convenient than I had expected. Walking into the hotel, you get an immediate feel for its Victorian character. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and check-in was very smooth. Staff is more than happy to wait on you. We stayed in a room with a limited view of the ocean and boardwalk. The room wasn't spacious, but it was fine for the two of us. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is right on the boardwalk, and is perfectly situated for a stroll along the boardwalk or beach, and is just a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Rehoboth Avenue. It was an enjoyable stay for the two of us, and we look forward to returning. Rehoboth Beach is a great seaside resort town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel does a good job with the "old timey" feel -- from the lobby to the pub. We had an ocean front suite in mid-August and it was so quiet we all slept past 8:00 a.m. most days! This hotel makes everything easy -- check in, parking, towels for the beach, chair/umbrella vouchers for the beach. Helpful staff and very friendly. While we were there, I found a coupon in a boardwalk flyer for $100 off at the Plaza and even though the coupon said to present at check in, the front desk staff accepted it mid-way through our stay. My only complaint really is the pool. It is sooooo small and mainly inside. For kids, the ocean can be too cold and/or rough, so it's nice to have the pool to fall back on. This pool is more of an adult soaking tub. Also, the layout of the "beach front" room was such that the main sleeping area is away from the beach so remains dark while the little living area is on the beach and gets all the light. That said, however, we still really enjoyed the convenience and friendliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ten-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Board walk Plaza is a Great place to stay if you like a lot of activity and the beach environment. The Hotel is top notch with A plus service from door man to bell boy to maids. They attend to your every whim, and if you pay for all the amenities you have the best stay. We stayed in a suite that slept 5 although we were three, and were very happy with the room. The bar in our room was not open nor did they leave the key to it. We do not use credit cards and pay everything in cash this seems to confuse them and did cause us delays in arriving and checking in and checking out as well. This is also the reason why they did not let us have an open bar I suppose. We were ahead in our payments owing nothing by the time we checked out and again this confused them, as every receipt we received stated that we still had a balance when there was no balance due, they said the receipt kept a balance because we were not checking out.We paid everything as we went along though out our stay. It took us 45 minutes to check out due to the fact that their records did not update fast enough and said that we still owed for a dinner that was paid by our bank card in full.which was $136.88, we refused to pay for it twice and asked for a manager and was told that we had to wait till 10 am to speak with her. It was 9AM at that time. They stated that our card was denied which was impossible, I stated they needed to re examine their records, and after an hour and half had passed and my husband went back to the lobby to pay again for the 136.88 dinner which was already paid... they apologised and stated they didn't understand their mix up! They WERE wrong and it stated that it was paid in full at that time. They didn't know what happened. My husband said to her " NOW how do you feel embarrassing my wife as you did with your lack of knowledge on the status of payments registered in YOUR computers.?" Your Mistake and OUR embarrassing situation." Again the manager was not there and we had to leave because of heavy traffic headed back to NY. They gave us a mug as an apology for the embarrassment and delay. By the way the lobby was full with new arriving guests while this confusion was occurring.

The pool is very warm and small and you can not use it or the roof top if there is rain. they close it down. The coffee machines in the rooms never had enough coffee for three or more guests and never any sugar or cream in the rooms we always had to ask for more to be brought up. For $500.00 a night I found that it was somewhat enjoyable but I will not ever return. I believe that for the expense there should be a more respectful greeting and a more enjoyable departure. If you use cash and do not use credit cards, this is NOT the place to stay. If you use only credit cards then by all means stay but watch the charges. The restaurant and bar are pricey
cosmos are $14.00, a cranberry and vodka is $10.00 not sure why the jump in price but I found that excessive for Delaware. Breakfast for three was $65.00,Dinner for four $300.00 with drinks. I believe that you can get a better value for three thousand dollars at another location, with the same views and the same great service. The gift shop was unique and affordable, I loved the birds in the lobby and the pool area. It was spotless and I enjoyed the stay outside of the front desk and their inability to understand their accounting software.

Room Tip: Beach front third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

2nd visit to the Boardwalk Plaza and nothing has changed since last year. It was another great experience! Check-in was effortless and professionally handled. Room was well maintained and nicely appointed. View was spectacular. Staff was all accommodating and really made my wife and I feel like truly welcomed guests. Enjoyed breakfast in the dining room – eat outside if it is not too hot. Service was great and the food was great. Was there attending a meeting and everything ran very smoothly. My wife and I truly enjoyed a very relaxing 3 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
620 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing