We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Front and great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Boardwalk Plaza is a lovely 40s-style hotel with ocean front rooms, some of which are suites. There is a 4th floor Concierge level for adults only. A small pub, a Victorian restaurant with some outdoor seating, a pool/hot tub with rules for adults only after 8pm. Staff is attentive, eager to please and available. It's wonderful to wake to the sounds of the ocean directly under the balcony and to be pampered. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown restaurants, pubs and shopping.

Room Tip: If money is not a problem ($250.) ask for the suite I mentioned above for adults. There is a differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 878 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a nice hotel, but not for a family. The decor is very aclectic, and different. Although, it is steps away from the beach and on the boardwalk. Great Location. The rooms were very clean, and fresh. 2nd Nicest hotel in Rehoboth. Just, this is not the sort of place for a family on a budget. We stayed in a Standard Room (overpriced if I may add). Our room was desent, but not worth the money. The victorian feel is not suitable for children, and with a budget, the Standard room is what you get. And, let me tell you, it was below standard. For 300 hundred dollars per night, we could have gotten a small suite at the Atlantic Sands hotel, gotten a nicer room and saved money. If you stay here, you have to have money for a suite, thats the only way to do it. Anyway, the service is great, kind staff members ready to help you. This is a nice hotel, but mainly for a couple, not a family.

Room Tip: Dont do Standard Rooms, only do suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here one weekend in April 2012 with my wife. Parking was very convenient, much more convenient than I had expected. Walking into the hotel, you get an immediate feel for its Victorian character. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and check-in was very smooth. Staff is more than happy to wait on you. We stayed in a room with a limited view of the ocean and boardwalk. The room wasn't spacious, but it was fine for the two of us. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is right on the boardwalk, and is perfectly situated for a stroll along the boardwalk or beach, and is just a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Rehoboth Avenue. It was an enjoyable stay for the two of us, and we look forward to returning. Rehoboth Beach is a great seaside resort town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huskyhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel does a good job with the "old timey" feel -- from the lobby to the pub. We had an ocean front suite in mid-August and it was so quiet we all slept past 8:00 a.m. most days! This hotel makes everything easy -- check in, parking, towels for the beach, chair/umbrella vouchers for the beach. Helpful staff and very friendly. While we were there, I found a coupon in a boardwalk flyer for $100 off at the Plaza and even though the coupon said to present at check in, the front desk staff accepted it mid-way through our stay. My only complaint really is the pool. It is sooooo small and mainly inside. For kids, the ocean can be too cold and/or rough, so it's nice to have the pool to fall back on. This pool is more of an adult soaking tub. Also, the layout of the "beach front" room was such that the main sleeping area is away from the beach so remains dark while the little living area is on the beach and gets all the light. That said, however, we still really enjoyed the convenience and friendliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ten-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Board walk Plaza is a Great place to stay if you like a lot of activity and the beach environment. The Hotel is top notch with A plus service from door man to bell boy to maids. They attend to your every whim, and if you pay for all the amenities you have the best stay. We stayed in a suite that slept 5 although we were three, and were very happy with the room. The bar in our room was not open nor did they leave the key to it. We do not use credit cards and pay everything in cash this seems to confuse them and did cause us delays in arriving and checking in and checking out as well. This is also the reason why they did not let us have an open bar I suppose. We were ahead in our payments owing nothing by the time we checked out and again this confused them, as every receipt we received stated that we still had a balance when there was no balance due, they said the receipt kept a balance because we were not checking out.We paid everything as we went along though out our stay. It took us 45 minutes to check out due to the fact that their records did not update fast enough and said that we still owed for a dinner that was paid by our bank card in full.which was $136.88, we refused to pay for it twice and asked for a manager and was told that we had to wait till 10 am to speak with her. It was 9AM at that time. They stated that our card was denied which was impossible, I stated they needed to re examine their records, and after an hour and half had passed and my husband went back to the lobby to pay again for the 136.88 dinner which was already paid... they apologised and stated they didn't understand their mix up! They WERE wrong and it stated that it was paid in full at that time. They didn't know what happened. My husband said to her " NOW how do you feel embarrassing my wife as you did with your lack of knowledge on the status of payments registered in YOUR computers.?" Your Mistake and OUR embarrassing situation." Again the manager was not there and we had to leave because of heavy traffic headed back to NY. They gave us a mug as an apology for the embarrassment and delay. By the way the lobby was full with new arriving guests while this confusion was occurring.

The pool is very warm and small and you can not use it or the roof top if there is rain. they close it down. The coffee machines in the rooms never had enough coffee for three or more guests and never any sugar or cream in the rooms we always had to ask for more to be brought up. For $500.00 a night I found that it was somewhat enjoyable but I will not ever return. I believe that for the expense there should be a more respectful greeting and a more enjoyable departure. If you use cash and do not use credit cards, this is NOT the place to stay. If you use only credit cards then by all means stay but watch the charges. The restaurant and bar are pricey
cosmos are $14.00, a cranberry and vodka is $10.00 not sure why the jump in price but I found that excessive for Delaware. Breakfast for three was $65.00,Dinner for four $300.00 with drinks. I believe that you can get a better value for three thousand dollars at another location, with the same views and the same great service. The gift shop was unique and affordable, I loved the birds in the lobby and the pool area. It was spotless and I enjoyed the stay outside of the front desk and their inability to understand their accounting software.

Room Tip: Beach front third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

2nd visit to the Boardwalk Plaza and nothing has changed since last year. It was another great experience! Check-in was effortless and professionally handled. Room was well maintained and nicely appointed. View was spectacular. Staff was all accommodating and really made my wife and I feel like truly welcomed guests. Enjoyed breakfast in the dining room – eat outside if it is not too hot. Service was great and the food was great. Was there attending a meeting and everything ran very smoothly. My wife and I truly enjoyed a very relaxing 3 days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel. The experience was one of the best we can remember. There is not a single staff person without a smile on his or her face when they greet you as you walk through the hotel, morning, afternoon or evening. The service was superb, but we saved the best for last. We ate at the restaurant on our final night and it was our best meal in Rehoboth. We dined at a number of great places, but the food and atmosphere at the hotel was exceptional. Add the entertainment and our super waitress (Mary) and you have a perfect evening.

Room Tip: loved our ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,841 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Suites Hotel
Brighton Suites Hotel
#13 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range: $89 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing