We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We recently enjoyed three nights at the hotel. It was quiet, very clean and location was very great. Have enjoyed staying there many times and would not hesitate to tell friends to stay there.
Everyone was very polite. Mini bar is expensive, but most hotels are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    131
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
189
318
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Stratford on Avon Bears
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you like caged birds at reception and a Pool smaller than friends might have in their garden then this is the hotel for you. Rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable but unfortunately early refuse collections and deliveries outside the hotel led to a disturbed nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBearsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went last minute to Rehobeth Beach for the first time, we checked the hotel next door where our unfortunate friends ended up staying with their children so when we came here to check for a room we we're thrilled, as soon as you walk in you can tell it's an upscale yet comfortable atmosphere with the parrots and lovely lobby. We had a king room on the second floor and what I really noticed was the refreshing scent throughout the hallways... compared to our friends' hotel in which the hallways, room and rugs had an awful odor so when we entered this hotel it was a breath of fresh air and the price was almost the same. Our room was lovely, with the bath robes, nice thick towels and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had a Kerug coffee maker and they supplied us with extra coffee pods and lots of cream. I would not recommend the snacks or drinks in the fridge, we took them out and made room for our goodies. We did not eat here but heard good things. The only critique I have is the pool is really just an extra large jacuzzi, but we were in the ocean all day so it didn't really matter. Loved it.

Room Tip: It was our first time here, we had a lovely room on second floor on side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17mcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Boardwalk Plaza has a lot of good points: it's on the boardwalk of course, the ocean front rooms have AWESOME views, rooms are fine, the observation deck on the top floor of the hotel has a hot tub, which is very cool, and covered free parking.
The not so good points: VERY pricey: the mini bar items were over priced. A pot of coffee in the morning is $7. It's Victorian themed, which is interesting, but they have parrots in the lobby and I'm not a bird person. The pool is small and makes the lobby smell odd, or maybe it's the birds.... The staff is polite but a little stiff, a few are cranky, most are nice.

BUT overall I had a good time, it's fine for couples, but maybe not the place for people with kids.
If you go: do it for the view and the ambiance, and bring your own snacks.
I had a nice time and I'd stay there again in the off season.

Room Tip: Just spring for the Ocean front room, it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaKaytion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First of all- the "indoor" pool is NOT available if it is raining, because it is connected to the outdoor part of the pool and can get hit by lightning. So don't count on the pool as a back up if it rains. Also, I called ahead to make sure that beach towels would be available and was told "of course!" But, for two days of our stay, they were not available for some unexplained reason, then on the third day, they ran out. But other than that, our stay was fine, the location is great, right on the boardwalk. Watch the shower water temp! It suddenly varies from cold to hot and I didn't complain about that because I'm sure there's nothing they can do. It ticked me off that they give you a filled fridge (refreshment center!) because I could have used the room for my sodas and waters and fruit. The room was clean and they did a great job vacuming all the sand!

Room Tip: Our room did not face the ocean- no frills, no thrills. A.C was self-controlled and worked extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chowess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not a bad hotel, but a little quirky.

We asked for a quiet room and paid extra for the concierge floor, but they put us directly adjacent to the elevator, so we heard everyone come and go (and chat) all evening. We made the reservations MONTHS in advance.

The suite with two queens is cheaper than the single room with a king bed. The king has a single old style tube TV; the suite has two flat panels.

If you pay extra for the concierge floor, you get free coffee in the AM ---but--- the coffee is in a separate "cottage" across the parking lot, and the pot was empty when I got there at 9am.

The bed is great, very firm and the linens are soft. Towels are mediocre....felt more like floor mats than a $500.00 a day hotel.

But hey, it's on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to get away. The hotel character is very Victorian, on the Concierge level it is actually furnished with real antiques. The other levels are reproductions but tastefully victorian. The hotel is family owned and operated and it shows in every way. No corporate stuff here. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Even the parrots in the lobby are friendly, one is trained to say "hello" and "good morning." Despite it's ritzy look and feel it is also family friendly. We take our grand daughter there and the rooms, even the standard rooms are large enough to accommodate a small family. The indoor/outdoor pool is a great feature. It's warm and clean and at night it's used as a hot tub for adults so it has seating all around the sides which is great for small children and new swimmers. Definitely the best on the beach!

Room Tip: You can save some by taking a standard room which is on the back side of the hotel with no view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Property: Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing