We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the off season--but what's with the general lee?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
adjovi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for the off season--but what's with the general lee?”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I had camped here once before, and found the campsite to literally be in the parking lot of someone's cabin. we had enough space for a tent, and that was about it. so, our kind neighbors, who had helped us build a fire the night before, since we had arrived after dark and were woefully underprepared, allowed us to peak into their cabins, and i was convinced this was a better deal. i came back in the off season--we got really lucky with the weather--and the location was great, parking is free and plentiful at rehoboth--all and all, a great deal. the cabins are comfortable and warm. also? the cabins are close to the bathhouse, which is great--they are clean and the showers were spacious and the water was hot. i just don't understand why the management would chose to fly the confederate flag and have confederate flag themed gifts in the management office. my friend (who is not from this country) actually asked me if delaware was considered part of the south--um. yeah. pretty sure the mason-dixon line is a bit farther south. we thought this was a great deal and had a wonderful time, but it is hard to endorse a place (even a deal as great as this--BUT GO WITH THE CABINS!) that flies the confederate flag. really? in 2010?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
The owners are Civil War re-enactors with ancestors who fought in the Civil War. The flags are purely heritage related, nothing more. It sounds like you enjoyed everything else; maybe this answers your question about “the general lee.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    17
    21
    22
See reviews for
79
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I visited over labor day weekend. We are regular campers, though this was our first stay at a private campground. We were pleased to find such a nice and up to date bathroom/ shower not something we typically encounter at most state parks. The cabins also looked very nice though we did not stay in one. We tent camped for the weekend and were very uncomfortable with how close we were to the other campers. The sites were not very well marked and other campers took advantage of the lack of boundaries to "invade" our space. It was not a quiet stay due to the fact that we were only a tree away from our neighbors. If you have a larger vehicle you may have some trouble parking and navigating the narrow streets. The staff was very friendly and helpful... I was surprised to see that others commented differently.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Due to the price of land in this area, we can’t offer extensive site size, but we do try to offer a clean, affordable place to stay that is very convenient to Rehoboth Beach and the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2010

After our favorite campground in Rehoboth (3 Seasons) was turned into housing developments, we tried Big Oaks and it was overall OK, we didn't have any bad experiences ourselves but there definately is potential!! .
First off, the spots were so close that our awning was almost touching the neighbor's camper and their sewer ran almost under our picnic table. Not the most pleasant... A campfire would start somthing on fire. The main safety problem was the sand eroded so their 'underground' extention cords with no conduit were now partially above ground --ELECTRICUTION-- and I actually tripped over one... HAZARD
Sand covered the narrow windy hilly roads making biking dangerous (a kid about seven slipped and fell).
Although I didn't use the showers/ bathrooms they seemed clean and nice.
Service- The staff was a little grumpy and moody, not willing to go out of their way, gave us a spot too small after telling them we have a 30+ foot trailer and tow vehicle.
You'd better like your neighbors 'coz you can hear them talk in their camper!!
WAY overboard on the Confererate stuff , very offensive to some.

With a couple fixes this campground would be much more pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeystoneOutback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We take all complaints into consideration. We don’t have any electrical wire that close to the surface, but occasionally the cable T.V. wires work their way to the surface and need to get reburied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

get rid of the stupid flags. Not worth loosing clients over. Retrain all people to do the same job, fairly and with out malice. also a little more sq.ft. per sit would make all the difference in thr world

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fastprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Due to our heritage, we don’t consider them stupid flags. There is no malice intended and it shouldn’t be assumed. We honor our ancestors no different than anyone else does and respect everyone’s right to do the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

College Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

First, they could not find my boyfriend's reservation because they had misspelled name. It took a while to find it. Second, it's a cash only outfit. Third, there are a proliferation of rebel flags, including one swaying in the wind right there by the office and the pool. Inside the office/store itself there were a number of items bearing the logo of the old Confederacy. All in all, this campsite had a real red-neck aura. Oh, did I mention that there were only two toilets and 3 shower stalls to service the camp? Not to mention that they were gross??

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey_Bee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
There are multiple bathing facilities throughout the park and we were given a #10 (the highest) rating by Trailer Life for our restrooms in 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were looking for a comfortable and affordable place to sleep near the beach...this fit the bill well. The cabin was a bit dusty, but workable. The A/C worked well. The bathhouse was comparable to any regularly checked public restroom...not so clean I'd eat off the counter tops, but not a horror show either (although my husband, who unlike myself actually has previous experience at campgrounds, says that the bathhouse here was very clean for a campground). The pool was nice and just a short walk from our cabin. The WiFi was slow and didn't work so well indoors, but that didn't matter so much. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanana_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This campground is probably 75% seasonal campers with sewage hook-up. We brought our pop-up and used the campground bathroom facilities. YUCK! Only three toilets and three showers for the entire campground. No set time for closing the bathrooms for "cleaning", so you couldn't plan your shower around their schedule. So what do I mean by "YUCK"? Floors that were covered with mud and sand. Floors in the "cabin bathhouse" that felt like they give at any moment. Two of the three toilets at one point were out of service, and the mold and mildew in the showers could have been easily fixed by purchasing and hanging new shower curtains.

The campsites were roomy and flat, no problems there, and we had no problem with the check-in process, unlike some of the other travellers who have submitted their reviews.

Campground is on the shuttle route to the beach, which I thought was a great feature.

All in all, we won't be going back. There are a few other campgrounds nearby which we will consider next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We give everyone a map upon arrival, with bathhouses identified. If in doubt, all is needed is to ask. There are numerous bathroom facilities throughout the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
598 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.9 mi away
Heritage Inn and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Property: Big Oaks Family Campground
Address: 35567 Big Oaks Ln, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9607
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing