We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This campground is probably 75% seasonal campers with sewage hook-up. We brought our pop-up and used the campground bathroom facilities. YUCK! Only three toilets and three showers for the entire campground. No set time for closing the bathrooms for "cleaning", so you couldn't plan your shower around their schedule. So what do I mean by "YUCK"? Floors that were covered with mud and sand. Floors in the "cabin bathhouse" that felt like they give at any moment. Two of the three toilets at one point were out of service, and the mold and mildew in the showers could have been easily fixed by purchasing and hanging new shower curtains.

The campsites were roomy and flat, no problems there, and we had no problem with the check-in process, unlike some of the other travellers who have submitted their reviews.

Campground is on the shuttle route to the beach, which I thought was a great feature.

All in all, we won't be going back. There are a few other campgrounds nearby which we will consider next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We give everyone a map upon arrival, with bathhouses identified. If in doubt, all is needed is to ask. There are numerous bathroom facilities throughout the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    17
    21
    22
See reviews for
79
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

After reading the reviews on this campground, we were very weary of our selection, but were willing to take the chance due to the campground's proximity to the beach and public transportation. We also discovered this campground is very near a bike trail which runs from the town of Lewes to Cape Henlopen State Park and Rehoboth.
We were assigned a site across from the pool (that is where the more level, spacious sites were, by the way) and it all worked out great. The bathrooms were nice; tiled and clean and held up well in an area where everyone comes back from the beach and heads straight for the showers to get all the muck off.
The owners were not the friendliest, but weren't rude either. The playground was great, the dumpsters were emptied every other day, and the campground was quiet.
I would not have liked it as much if we had not had the sites we did. The main part of the campground is hilly, and the sites are small and close.
As far as the Dixie/Confederate items (I'm from the North), I was not offended, nor did I see any campers displaying Confederate items. One corner of the store had kind of a collector's corner, where there were Dixie/Confederate items for sale. Kind of reminded me of the Dukes of Hazzard.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful bike trail to the beaches. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

this was a very bad camping experience. to start with there wasn't any room between the camp sites, we had to listen to the guy in the site next to ours snore all night. it was very loud cars were going in and out until 2 in the morning. it was a bad experience pretty much altogether. the only good thing i can say is the pool was nice and the bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan62000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are in a very expensive area and although we would love to enlarge the sites, we feel that most people would not be willing to pay additional fees to cover the loss of revenue needed to maintain the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rehoboth Beach hotels

Wilmington, De
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Over all not a bad campground. I agree with the others when saying the people in the office are not the nicest people in town! Over the phone they are rushed and quite nasty. when you arrive (and are paying) they seem to be a little more eager to help you. Yes, the bathrooms aren't always up to par, but hey, after all, it is a campground and that is to be expected. Can be very crowded at times, but compared to the other campgrounds in the area (we have stayed at most of them) this is the one my family and I will continue to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopersil1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
This is a small family business and if we seem rushed on the phone, we are probably registering someone in and working the register at the same time. It is not that we don’t care; we are just trying to take care of everyone’s needs simultaneously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My family has been coming to Big Oaks for about 10 years now, for a week every summer. We have a popup that we all stay in (2 parents, 4 now teenagers) and we go to the beach early in the morning and come back for dinner and a campfire. The campground is only 2.5 miles from the beach and is also close to lots of places to eat and grocery stores as well as all the outlets (very helpful if you happen to forget any staples). When we were younger we all enjoyed the playground and we still enjoy the gameroom (with arcade games and a pool table as well as shuffleboard) and the pool. I have many fond memories of past vacations. The campground itself is very nice, the bathrooms are clean and I love all the big, old trees they have. The service was always topnotch. The campground has been run by the same family for years and they really care about what they do. This past summer I stayed with my Mom for an extra week before the rest of our family came up because she had a class to take (she's a teacher). We arrived at night and my mom was very worried about getting in our spot and unloading everything on her own. One of the staff drove down with us and helped back up, block the trailer, and unpack! And that is only one example of the great service we have had over the years.I would definetely recommend Big Oaks to anybody, whether they have small children (i had fun then) or teenagers (my siblings still have fun) or in their 20s ( i still have fun) or even older couples (my parents want to go back on their own and my grandparents have done the same and enjoyed it), it is a great family atmosphere at a great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildirishrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
So glad that you went from a family tradition to part of our family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2010

the staff was very helpful and even helped back up our camper so my wife could stay in the truck with the ac. My kids loved the pirate ship on the play ground and the pool side snack bar was great. It was a very safe environment and i found it easy to relax

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationcelebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are very glad that you had a relaxing vacation! We always try to do what we can to help our customers start off their vacation on a good note and that includes a stress-free back-in. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

It was my Husband and I and our 2 boys 8 & 2. We rented a Cabin and were surprised at just how nice they are. We were not sure of the place when we saved the date due to no credit cards and sending in a deposit. However, it turned out to be our best trip to the beach ever. The bath houses are very clean and the cabins are far enough apart that you don't feel like you are on top of each other. The owners who run the place are so super nice...very in touch with the civil war and all the extra they due for the veterans and the stories they told me were amazing. They are people who care and are very big hearted doing what they love. The swimming pool was great the kids loved it and the access to Rehobath and Lewes it was right in the middle of the 2. They also loved the park and the bunny rabbit they have for a pet. We will be back and this time maybe stay for a week. The only thing I recomend is to take an eggshell mattress because the beds are not soft. They are like hospital beds with the vinal covers...needed i'm sure because of the bugs and wilderness. I've been telling all my friends and family and I would tell anyone this is a very nice campground to stay at when you have young kids and enjoy the woods.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHairDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are so happy that your family enjoyed their stay with us. We really do care about what we do here and it is very important to us that we are always doing our best so that our customers can have a great vacation just like you did! Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends and family, we hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
0.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Property: Big Oaks Family Campground
Address: 35567 Big Oaks Ln, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9607
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing