We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's not really a 5 star facility, but I give them the highest rating for being so helpful. Read some of negative reviews about the staff and I can't believe it's the same place they're talking about. Everyone was friendly including the office and maintenance staff. Special kudos to Jeff Jr. who went above and beyond in helping us get settled!
The good: The people were nice. Felt safe. Wonderful location. Quiet. Near the bike trail. There were biting bugs- but far fewer than at similar places we've stayed. Mostly RVs but tent sites looked fine. Great camp store with everything you need. Walking-biking distance to shopping and the Rehoboth bus stops right in front.
The bad: Sites are really tight (but they help you back in.) Some are on hills (but Jeff dug us in to get leveled out so our fridge could work.) The bathrooms are always dirty (but they clean them twice a day and there was never a wait for a shower.) The WIFI doesn't extend to all the sites and is really slow (but they were trying to upgrade it this week.) I think they have a filter on there that prevents movie downloads, so come prepared.
It's probably not the best choice if you're looking to hang around at the campsite all day- though our vacation was rained out and we saw a lot of people just chilling. We were in a small travel trailer surrounded by huge, permanently parked RVs, but with the trees, we didn't feel cramped at all.
There are easy things they could do to improve the bathhouse, which would make the whole experience better for campers without their own facilities:
1. DRY it. When they clean, they leave everything hosed down and wet and the first person who walks in gets it muddy. If they mopped the floor dry it would stay clean much longer. If they wiped stuff dry, people wouldn't be afraid to put their clothing on the chairs or sit on the toilets and it all would stay cleaner.
2. Change the radio station- or turn it off. They piped in annoying music with filthy lyrics 24 hrs, and at night the commercials were sex toys, porn videos and hooka lounges. Not appealing to the clientel they have staying at this campground- mostly families.
3. Put hooks by the showers for towels and clothing.
4. Close the bathroom door to keep the bugs out- though maybe it's open for security.
5. Get sink fixtures that stay on for at least a few seconds without pushing so people won't spit and leave it in there.
So- it's no resort- but it's a good place to stay. If you have your own bathroom and aren't looking for campground entertainment, you'll be very comfortable. I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone who is looking for an affordable place to sleep near the beach.

Room Tip: I'd try to avoid staying right near the trash cans.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too-much-trouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for posting a review! We are glad that you had a good experience. We are always working to improve the campground, and welcome suggestions. Concerning the cleanliness of the bathrooms, as you have noted, we work hard to keep them as clean as possible. Please bear in mind that they are heavily-used public facilities that we cannot monitor constantly. Concerning the radio station, please note that we broadcast only public radio stations, which are regulated by the FCC and there are certainly no pornographic videos being broadcast anywhere in the campground. The FCC website states that “it is a violation of federal law to air obscene programming at any time. It is also a violation of federal law to air indecent programming or profane language during certain hours.” It seems as though no matter which station we pick, somebody has a complaint about it. When we get complaints, we do turn off the radio, but most times it is not an issue. What we play in the restrooms is a top hits public radio station. While people’s music tastes differ, most people prefer a bit of background noise in the public restroom, as it makes it more comfortable. We will be putting hooks in the showers this winter. The reason we have fixtures in the sink that only run for a few seconds is because people often just leave the water running. We cannot control the people who spit in the sink or make a mess of the facilities unless we see them doing it. Not every camper is conscientious of others, but we do our best to overcome that and provide a good camping experience. Concerning things to do in the campground, we do have a swimming pool, game room, and. shaded playground, as well as activities on Saturdays. There is a bike/walking trail just half a mile from our entrance and you don’t have to travel far from the campground for other entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Big Oaks Family Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Campground is close to all the action. Beaches, restaurants, shopping. Highly recommend the dart bus to the rehoboth beach area. Drawback...if you are looking for the campground experience the sites are very close. Our site meant for big rigs was close for our 29 foot trailer. Still has amenities that some families are looking for... Pool, play area, basketball court. Pet friendly, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tooternj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Being this close to the beach and all the amenities in the area is great, but it does make property taxes very expensive, which means we can only make sites so large.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there a few years ago. It was my first camping trip to Rehoboth Beach. There were a total of six of us there. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. We actually camped twice there that year. We would recommend this campground to any of our friends and family. Not noisy at all. Very clean. We were allowed early check in. Next time we come down, we do plan on renting a cabin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay near Rehoboth Beach and plan to spend most of your time in rehoboth, this place will be fine for you - to sleep, get ready, etc.

If you have a family with little ones, there is a nice pool and playground, etc for children. So that will work for you.

If you are looking to spend a good amount of time on the campsite to do all of those camping things - sit around fire, cook etc - these are very very tight quarters for tent camping. I have been to many campsites and have never been to one that is as small as this. Like literally on top of each other. For me it was too much. We spent a lot of the days biking or in rehoboth beach. I couldn't imagine spending the whole day on site.

It depends on what you are looking for and how important space is for you. Otherwise great staff, good location, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abkm3379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We’re sorry that our campground wasn’t for you. Land is at a premium in this area and you can only afford to provide a limited amount of space for each site. For those who spend the day on site, we do have a swimming pool, shaded playground, game room, adult lounge, and free wi-fi, as well as activities every Saturday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just want to comment on the politeness of Dana on the phone while taking reservations.She was so patient while I tried to figure out when was the best time for me. Helpful by answering questions and telling me about the campsite and ways of different transportation to the beach. The best part was she answered the phone while the office was closed. I have been camping for years and I really expected a Please call back tomorrow, or after giving me the available dates, a How about you look over the dates and call back tomorrow. Both of these would have been fine, but she did better. So I decided to write a review and hope to follow up with another after our vacation in August.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Sejourne_trois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Customer service is very important to us and we are so glad you had a positive experience. Now that August is finally here, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time in 2005, looking for an alternative to the seriously over-priced hotels in the area. We have been back every year since then. every summer i cannot wait to go to the beach, then come back and sit on the porch, read my book under the cool canopy of the trees and sit by the fire. Love the shop, the pool, the shuffle board, everything. Its an all around great place to stay and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. After bringing our first child their last year for the first time and laying with her on a blanket outside the cabin and watching the trees sway, I can say that we all look forward to coming every summer. A family Tradition for years to come!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaof1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are excited that you have chosen our location for your family vacations! We love being able to provide a nice, affordable place for people to vacation and look forward to see you for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ok, I've been going here for about 20 years now. Yes, it's tight and small. Maneuvering through the campground pulling a trailer can be tough, but it's not the end of the world. I've never had any problems with the owners. In fact, they have gone out of their way to help me when needed. I'm camping, period! Treat the owners the same way you'd like to be treated, it works mostly everywhere. The place is clean but gets a little dirty after a weekend. You need to give the people time to clean up and stay on top of it. It doesn't say "RESORT" out front. The bike trails are outstanding and will take you right into Rehoboth if you are into working up a sweat. It's a place to sleep, shower and poop then I'm on my way to all the Rehoboth attractions. I had to laugh at the reviewer who said he had a new trailer and damaged the bumper when leaving because of the tight site he was in. He went on to blame the campground. Really? If you don't know how to maneuver a camper in tight spots, you shouldn't have one. One word, "spotter". It works well for those situations. For the rest of you whiners, stay in a motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for the review Joe! Camping isn’t for everybody, but as you mentioned, we work hard to provide a nice campground for our customers. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rehoboth Beach
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#11 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.9 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 7 in Lewes
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Address: 35567 Big Oaks Ln, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971-9607
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing