We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantwell's Tavern

Cantwell's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Cantwell's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Just opened to the public on December 14, 2011. Located in the historic Hotel in the historical disrict encompassing The Historic Houses of Odessa. Holiday atmosphere is festive for the whole town.
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Odessa is kind of out of the way, But it is worth the drive. Went for lunch on a cold winter day . We sat in the bar with a nice fire going in the fireplace. Started with oysters on the half shell, and had a fried shrimp Po boy. My wife had the home made pierogis and a BLT. The oysters were fresh and quite good. The Po Boy had a good amount of shrimp and was very good. The BLT was made with in house cured bacon. The bacon was thick and tasty. I don't care for pierogis, but my wife said they were the best she had ever had. The beer selection is quite extensive and the bar tender was very knowledgeable and friendly. Most of the people eating at the bar seemed to be regulars. The menu is varied from simple sandwiches to complex dinners. We definitely plan to return

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    74
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small Historic Town has Restaurant to carry the flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Cantwell Tavern maintains the character of the town of Odessa's 18th Century History while still serving excellent meals. They provide homemade food right down to their pickles, just like it would have been when this Tavern was around in the 18th Century. There are many old pictures on the walls to show you what the Tavern looked like as well as the town.
What is nice you can order small meals if you are a light eater and not have to have a "doggie bag." Their bar area is up to date with sports TV but it also looks authentic to the period with the mugs that regular patrons have purchased (would have done in 18th C.) hanging from the bar area. Many beer choices!
Their pastries are to die for!!!!! Their presentations are excellent. All in all it is a nice place to get away to in a quiet small town that lingers in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Most everything here has been good. I'd love to give it a 5 star, but due to a couple of visits where some of the food was average bring this rating down. Service is amazing, atmosphere is like a colonial Williamsburg type setting, an old building with very traditional tables/chairs, great bar. Staff is great. Stay away from the pizza, it's hit or miss. Great homemade pickles, shrimp bbq flatbreat, crabcake sandwich is to die for, fresh, full of crab. Their house apple cider vinigrette is AMAZING. I actually crave it. Salads are awesome. Nice outdoor seating on a brick patio for spring and summer. Definitely must try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gourmet food for lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

After doing the xmas tour of the historic Odessa homes, our guide suggested the tavern for lunch.....what a great way to finish a lovely day in this little town. The food was excellent, best coffee I have had for a long time, and the waitress was attentive but not constantly interuppting. Historic homes and tavern a great combination for a great day!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rmh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I showed up on a Saturday night without a reservation and we were seated immediately. Combined, we had an appetizer, two sandwiches and two beers for exactly $50 with tip. The service was prompt (except for the last ten minutes) and the food was delicious. If you enjoy cheddar cheese or like jalapeño poppers, then I highly recommend the tasty fried aged cheddar bites (although it was $8 for five small pieces, the sweet jalapeño sauce it came with became good for dipping bread). My husband had a crab cake sandwich with potato salad and I had the delicious sausage sandwich (kielbasa with spicy mustard and an onion and bacon marmalade that was INCREDIBLE!). Overall, it was a lovely dinner in a great old-fashioned atmosphere (I forgot to mention that they sat us next to one of the fireplaces!). If I am in Delaware again, I will definitely visit again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smarteeskeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantwell's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cantwell's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing