We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of The Salted Rim

The Salted Rim
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Ocean View
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Salted Rim Restaurant located in Ocean View Delaware. American and authentic Mexican Cuisine, Artisan cheese and Charcuterie boards. Located at the train cars on Rt 26, Atlantic Avenue in Ocean View Delaware! Dine in the train cars or in the pub area. We also host family friendly events in the trains such The Polar Express, Frozen and Thomas the Tank Engine! Create magical memories for your family as you enjoy a buffet dinner and watch the movie in the train cars decorated in the theme of the event. You will see the Conductor, Elves and Santa during The Polar Express or Anna and Elsa for Frozen! It is truly a wonderful time to spend with your family! Call us about booking Private Parties, Holiday Parties, Catering, Banquets and Meetings in authentic train cars serving customized American and/or Mexican Cuisine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped in for lunch for the first time. Lots of choices on the menu. Great service and amazing chili

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018

Took my children for the first time to the Polar Express event that the Salted Rim does every Christmas. You get to eat on the train which was a lot of fun. The buffet was your typical buffet food, but very tasty. They put in large televisions and Santa even stops by to visit the children. I thought it would be cramped but it was comfortable. The only suggestion I would state was to offer homemade cookies and more than one per child, the adults didn't even get one. Also, the hot chocolate would have been better served in a classic cup similar to the movie. Overall ti was a good experience and my children enjoyed it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lizzi583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

We had a reservation for 3:30pm for Thanksgiving dinner on the train. Sounded like a great idea. We arrived at least 15 minutes early and were directed to find a seat in the bar area and would be summoned when our table was ready. They have no system in place whatsoever to handle this. No speaker and no ones name being called for a table. Seemed like numerous parties arrived and the ones who spoke up were seated first. At 3:45pm I had to go and ask about our table. I was told we would be seated immediately and they were sorry for the wait as people just did not want to leave the restaurant after finishing dinner. Well, we were seated on the train which was at least half empty with tables waiting for people to be placed. I knew right then they were short staffed. We waited at least 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive was not very warm in the train. Clearly, people not wanting to leave was untrue. The restaurant simply couldn’t get food and drinks out and this was the delay. This was an all you can eat plated dinner which was supposed to have all the Thanksgiving trimmings. They were out of cranberry and dinner rolls at 3:30? Took a very long time to get our food which itself would have been subpar for any diner, let alone a nice restaurant. It took so long to get our food, we laughed at the all you can eat concept, as we’d have been there for 4hours if we wanted 2nd helpings. The food was not good enough to want 2nd’s anyway. We all brought home the unappetizing turkey and ham for our dog! The waiter then brought the smallest pieces of pumpkin and apple pie that I’ve ever seen. He forgot to bring forks and said he’d go get them. He then went and waited on another table before getting our forks, lol. This may be a fine restaurant on any other day but this was by far the worst Thanksgiving dinner we ever experienced.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Hello Bob,
I am sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact us at info@saltedrimde.com so we can further look into and discuss the situation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

What a wonder job they have done on this adventure for young and old (mostly young). From the greetings by Mrs. Clause to the ticket punch by Mr. Conductor it was a Polar Express fantasy brought to life. A visit from Santa himself topped things off!! I highly recommend this for Parents and Grandparents. The meal, Movie Santa experience for all.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a nicely decorated, very appealing restaurant; however, the menu is extremely limited. The bar does an excellent amount of business. The food is limited, as stated, and average at best. Wish it was better

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank priceg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salted Rim also viewed

 

Been to The Salted Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing