We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polar Express.”
Review of The Salted Rim

The Salted Rim
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Ocean View
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Salted Rim Restaurant located in Ocean View Delaware. American and authentic Mexican Cuisine, Artisan cheese and Charcuterie boards. Located at the train cars on Rt 26, Atlantic Avenue in Ocean View Delaware! Dine in the train cars or in the pub area. We also host family friendly events in the trains such The Polar Express, Frozen and Thomas the Tank Engine! Create magical memories for your family as you enjoy a buffet dinner and watch the movie in the train cars decorated in the theme of the event. You will see the Conductor, Elves and Santa during The Polar Express or Anna and Elsa for Frozen! It is truly a wonderful time to spend with your family! Call us about booking Private Parties, Holiday Parties, Catering, Banquets and Meetings in authentic train cars serving customized American and/or Mexican Cuisine
Reviewed November 7, 2018

What a wonder job they have done on this adventure for young and old (mostly young). From the greetings by Mrs. Clause to the ticket punch by Mr. Conductor it was a Polar Express fantasy brought to life. A visit from Santa himself topped things off!! I highly recommend this for Parents and Grandparents. The meal, Movie Santa experience for all.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 195 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a nicely decorated, very appealing restaurant; however, the menu is extremely limited. The bar does an excellent amount of business. The food is limited, as stated, and average at best. Wish it was better

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank priceg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful time. My wife and I took our five year old granddaughter for this magical night. Starting off with a visit to Mrs. Claus to check in. We were met by Mr. Conductor where our tickets were punched just like in the movie. The old train car was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Large screen Tv were set up so all tables had a great view. Santa's elf brought drinks and then we went to a buffet dinner. The lights were lowered and the movie starts. When Santa's arrival in the movie comes , the real Santa enters the car and visits each child. Needless to say the squeals of joy filled the room. I would recommend this adventure to parents and grandparents
.Well thought out and organised.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TrailBlazer623425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We were passing through Delaware at dinner time and decided to stop. My first impression was not good - I should have followed my instincts. It was very noisy. We asked to be seated in the back of the restaurant - away from the bar. We prefer a restaurant that we can communicate with one another while dining. That didn't happen. I chose a salad which was just ok - nothing special for $10.00 and no meat just salad, craisins, nuts and an egg. My husband had an enchilada - it was raw and soggy and the filling was not very good. As I said it was our first visit and our last.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dasher6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Owner at The Salted Rim, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

We're really sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us. We take a lot of pride in the food we serve, so it is disheartening to know that it did not meet your expectations. We hope you're willing to give us another shot in the future so we have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

If you' looking for something different, check this place out. You can choose to eat in a beautiful rail car rather than their main restaurant. The rail car is quieter dining and is really pretty inside, especially at night. The food was delicious, service was great, portions were decent sized, and prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank KASDKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salted Rim also viewed

 

Been to The Salted Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing